I’m With You, Charlie

“Objectivity — or the extent to which we strive for objectivity — is less of a marketable commodity.  People seem to want to hear news presented according to their own beliefs, and I don’t understand that.” (Charles Gibson to the Washington Post)

I may be a Brian Williams guy, but I always admired ABC’s Charles Gibson, who will retire after Friday’s broadcast.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Cable Hell, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m With You, Charlie

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    “People seem to want to hear news presented according to their own beliefs, and I don’t understand that.”

    Charlie, if you don’t understand that you’ve spent your whole life in the wrong business.

  2. Rick D says:

    Amen, Brother!!

  3. Kevin says:

    I liked Charlie he will be missed, with the exception of Schieffer inmo he has been the best since the fall of the Big 3. I was a Brokaw and Jennings guy used to flip between the two, then later on would flip between Woodruff and Schieffer. Charlie leaving will probably end my national news viewership. I’ve been fading slowly out for awhile now, just havent been able to connect with any of the replacements. I just find Williams & Couric to be simply awful, I can’t take them seriously. I have a hard time imagining Brokaw or Jennings talking about Tiger Woods scandals and other assorted silly segments that I see on the national news these days.
    From here on in, it’s local 30 news with Keish & Gerry for me and the quick switch to Geoff Fox for weather.

Leave a Reply

