A Passage

For as long as I can remember, I have always charged into the ocean.  As a kid on the Cape.  As a honeymooner on Kauai.  On one Caribbean island or another.  The bigger the waves the better.

But standing on the shore of Banderas Bay in Puerto Vallarta, I didn’t charge in.  Something said don’t. The waves were breaking big and bad.  The surf was pounding to the point I could feel it.  I wanted to.  But I didn’t.

Another wall of water rolls in.

I stayed on the shore.  Feeling older.  But wiser.  Until next time.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Passage

  1. Cat says:

    There you go Gerry,
    The body will always be the deciding factor in life.
    The mind will forever keep you young,
    Then theres Common Sense,,,

    You were wise to listen…

    Enjoy your time, come home safe…

  2. steve says:

    come on – I wanna see pictures of u body surfing.

  3. Wise decision! I would hate to see you as a news story in HD!

  4. Marlow Shami says:

    Gerry– you look very, very, very relaxed in your missed the start of winter shot. Love that inner listening, kept you out of potential — whatever:-)

  5. Pingback: Throw Me Higher! « The Brooks File

Leave a Reply

