Paradise is a Parking Lot

Over the weekend I got my car washed and I polished my shoes.

No big deal you say?  It was a huge deal.  Why?

WE HAVE A PARKING LOT!!!


Yup.  Fresh pavement at the new World Headquarters of NBC Connecticut.  Nice, clean, level pavement.  No more walking on mud and rocks.  No more shock to the shocks on our cars.

Sometimes it’s the little things.  But you know what?  After a couple of years of shuttling between the station and the nearby shopping center…a couple of years of hoping to find a spot…a couple of years of dodging potholes and tiptoeing around puddles…this parking lot is no little thing.

Yippee!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, TV Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Paradise is a Parking Lot

  1. No lumps means no Hoffa! Congratulations! Park well my friend.

  2. Ed says:

    Now all it needs us a weather hut!

  3. Chip Gorra says:

    They paved paradise, and put up a parking lot….

  4. pete says:

    complete with useless islands to navigate around! what ever happened to just painting lines?

  5. Bob says:

    Gerry,
    A little mud? Imagine what my Dad’s ’55 Olds looked like after the brakes gave out and plunged down near the old Log Cabin below. Thanks for the update, new 30 WHQ looks great!
    Bob

  6. Robert Paine says:

    My uncle worked for George Dewey and Company movers and he was on the crew that moved Ch. 30 into the original and now demolished building. He had a photo of himself and another man by the moving van.
    I visited the station in the 70s. A station engineer – I can only recall his first name, Fred – told me the station began in a storefront of a West Hartford shopping center, not far from 1422.

    Bob Paine
    Richland WA

    • Gerry says:

      Bob, thanks for checking in. I’ve seen the pictures of the moving vans way back when. The station you saw in the 70s was pretty much the station that was just demolished. The building your uncle moved Ch.30 into had a full and complete life.

  7. By the way, are those YOUR tire marks off on the new pavement? Looks like you left in a hurry!

  8. richb says:

    …and if they are you might want to check the alignment of your left rear.

  9. --dave says:

    Even without mud for contrast, it is quite a pretty building. Lots of sun in winter, but shade when the Sun is high…?

    I bet you stay well after you are entitled to a handicapped parking spot.

  10. --dave says:

    Power shades to conserve energy sounds paradoxical, but fun to play with, especially if there is a handheld remote involved, and you can selectively let the Sun in on some poor or deserving colleague’s computer screen. I’ll wager that only the Boss or Janitor (often equal powers) gets to adjust the shades.

Leave a Reply

