One Hip Dude

While NBC served up the Eagles and Bears  Sunday night, ABC had on the American Music Awards at the same time.  It’s called counter-programming.

I had my manly man eyes on the football game, while Mmes. Keisha Grant and P.J. DeCordova-Boyd, our crack production assistant, were checking out the music.  Or what the musicians were wearing.  Or in the case of several women, not wearing.

Kate Hudson. Really?

The cue to look up at the monitor was every time I heard “What is she thinking?” coming from Keisha and P.J.

Kate Hudson (presenter) comes immediately to mind.

Fergie. Really!

When the Black Eyed Peas came on, the sound was turned up, and for good reason.  They’re good.  Especially Fergie.  She’s gooooood. They were singing their current hit “Meet Me Halfway,” when I mentioned to Keisha and P.J. that I had recently bought the song on iTunes.

“You did?” [Incredulous looks on faces.]

“Yup, and it’s on heavy rotation (radio term) on my iPod.” [Look of smug pleasure I’m very good at.]

“You are one hip dude.” [Smiles all around.]

Made my night.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Hip Dude

  1. hendu says:

    most guys at your age hear the alternative, You have one hip? Duuude.

  2. Ditto, Li’l em. Gives new meaning to hip hop. I’ll bet your eyes were glued to those music awards. Just kidding of course. Not exactly up your tin pan alley. ( Disclosure: Li’l em, despite his name, is more into Mel Torme and Rosemary Clooney. Nothing wrong with that. Whatever floats your iPod )

  3. Gerry says:

    You guys are having way too much fun.

    And Hendu, that is a great line. Especially for 2:47 am.

  4. hendu says:

    That’s when I think my smartestly….see 10:15 is too late

Leave a Reply

