What Did You Call Me?

Listening to the radio on Thursday, I heard someone mention the Houston Texans of the NFL.

Lacking any truly meaningful thoughts at that moment, I wondered how many states would make acceptable nicknames for sports teams.

All I could come up with were the Virginians, the Mainers, and the New Yorkers (which is what Chrysler once called its top-of-the-line model that a family of five could live in comfortably).

Reading the paper Friday, I noticed the Courant devoted a fair amount of space to what we should be called. (See “lacking any truly meaningful thoughts” above.)

The Courant’s list:  Nutmeggers, Connecticuters, Connecticutites, Connecticutarianites, Connecticutians, Connecticans,  or Connecticutites (yes, a second time, so they must really like that one.)

While you ponder a choice, consider that (to me) it sounds OK to say Alaskan. But Minnesotan? Nah.  Hawaiian and Georgian?  Definitely.  Dakotan and Tennessean?  Not so much.  Oklahoma, OK!  But Oklahoman?  Get in line with Pennsylvanian.  Floridian?  Meh.  But then there’s Californian.  Who’s to argue with Californian?

As for Connecticut, it’s just one of those states that has a name that shouldn’t be twisted.

Take it from a native Massachutonian.  We’re not  Connecticutarianites.  We’re “from Connecticut.”

Period.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Noticed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What Did You Call Me?

  1. How about “Insurancers?”

  2. I don’t know what Connecticutters should be calling themselves, but I do know one thing. The slogan on their license plates should be:

    Live Well Or Die

    ( I just won’t give up on that one )

    And I do love your idea, Gerry. A red umbrella dome over the state house. I like that a lot.

  3. “Connecticutters”? “Connecticans”? “Connecticutans”? We’re one of the only states is not THE only state without a nickname derived by our state. It’s probably because it’s so hard to freaking spell.

  4. Rick D says:

    Gerry, Not trying to be political, But I like simply ” The Conns” My bad, maybe there is a political overtone.

Leave a Reply

