Movember

The subject was moustaches today on Colin McEnroe’s fine radio program, and having perpetrated lip fur on the Connecticut populace for 35 years, I was an honored guest.  Well, maybe not honored, but…

My moustache went away in March, 2007.   Its tiny remnants were washed down a hotel sink into the sewers of Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Future Anchormen of America Club. Member, 1974.

It died a natural death.  Born as a thick, black Fu Manchu in 1972, it had withered into a scraggly gray lip liner.  At the end,  it registered as black on the air because I colored it with mascara donated by The Woman Formerly Known As Joanne Nesti.  When she was done with a tube, I could get another 6 months out of it.  Lancôme.  Good stuff.  But TWFKAJN departed, and shortly thereafter, so did my mo.

Among the other guests on the program was Adam Garone of Movember. Sounds like a terrorist organization, but it’s not, though their cause is revolutionary:  promoting men’s health.  Their shtick:  grow moustaches in November to raise awareness about prostate cancer and other men’s health issues.  (You can hear the entire program by clicking here.)

I’m all in, except for the actual growing a moustache part.  Because it’s still there.  A full, jet black Fu Manchu.  Really, it’s still there.

You just can’t see it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me, Living in the Past, Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Movember

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    I have to admit, I was in shock the first time I saw you without it.

  2. Is it just me or does this picture of you remind me of Ron Burgundy?

  3. Sean Comey says:

    Fortunately Gerry, you look good either way.

  4. Kathryn D. says:

    You are Connecticut’s leading and most handsome anchorman with or without the moustache.

  5. Joan says:

    My husband shaved off his moustache about the same time you did. And I think you both look much younger without them! It definitely was time for a new, fresh faced look.

    • Gerry says:

      Joan, as I told Colin, I’m glad I was able to shave it off when I wanted to…not when someone else wanted me to. It was time. It sounds as if your husband did the same.

Leave a Reply

