Oprah/Charla

I’m not sure what was to be gained by Charla Nash appearing on Oprah, or Oprah having Charla Nash on.

Yes, we watched in the newsroom.  And we aired a portion of it on our newscasts.  And yes, I understand that it’s a story of the resilience of the human spirit.

And while I can’t be positively certain, unless Nash’s horrible fate at the hands of a chimpanzee happened to me, I can say this with 99% certainty:

As much as I admired Charla Nash’s attitude and fortitude, I’d rather be dead.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Oprah/Charla

  1. Don Ennis says:

    Totally agree. Seems the further I get from working in a newsroom on a daily basis, the more I agree with you, Gerry. It has nothing to do with getting older, I’m sure. And I do wish you hadn’t shown it on the news; it was at that exact moment we switched away. Wonder how many did likewise?

  2. Don Ennis says:

    Yes, you are correct, distance is the key. Usually about 30-feet does the trick. 😉 But seriously, a big thanks for your blog, it’s a treat. Enjoy your “Wednesday is Thursday” night.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    A shameful and grotesque exploitation of human disfigurement and misery.

  4. Sue says:

    While I admire both you and your blog, I’m glad that Sharla Nash can’t see. If she ever saw that someone would rather be dead than be alive and in her circumstances, it would break her heart. She obviously wants to be alive because she fought so hard to stay alive. Maybe it doesn’t matter to her what people think of her appearance. She’s an amazing woman.

  5. Kathryn D. says:

    It was really unbearable to watch. I cannot believe she survived. I do feel oh so very sorry for her and I am ashamed to ask who will pay $$$ for her very long and painful care? She is in my prayers.

  6. joene says:

    She has every reason to want to be alive … she’s a parent. There’s nothing more to say.

  7. remi says:

    she has every right to be alive you souless creature

  8. Rick D says:

    Gerry, I was a little surprised to see your comment. Not that it was cruel or insensitive . ( I also feel the same) but I now know that you be more *Gerry Brooks homeowner* on the blog than you can on the broadcast.
    Thanks!

  9. Dee says:

    Now Meredith interviewed her today. Thankfully, when the story airs it is prefaced with, “this could be disturbing” – it gives me a chance to turn my head or the channel. She does have some strange power of survival – good for her, but I agree with you Gerry, I would rather be dead. Also, this story highlights the disintegration of news – decades ago this would have played in a circus – not the news.

Leave a Reply

