I’ve Had Enough

That’s what Jodi Rell seemed to be saying in announcing her decision not to run for re-election.

Not that she’s sick of the process, sick of Democrats, sick of the media.  She says it’s simply her “time”…her time to go.

Perhaps Jodi Rell’s greatest triumph was being our Jerry Ford after John Rowland resigned in disgrace.  She made people feel better about the person in the office.

And even as the budget debacle continues on, her latest Q Poll approval rating is 59%, a remarkable number given recent events.

Rell and her husband have beaten health scares.  They’re doting grandparents.  Maybe they just want to quietly enjoy the rest of their lives.

How you feel about her governance and politics has nothing to do with this.   Give her credit for knowing how and when to make a graceful exit.

So few do.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve Had Enough

  1. Kathryn D. says:

    I do not blame her one bit for getting out. She is leaving while still at the top of her game. She is a class act. She has achieved the pinacle of a very successful political career. Politics seems to me to be so mean and self-serving for many. It will be difficult for the State of Connecticut to get anyone with true integrity elected to lead. I wish her all the best and thank her for a job well done.

  2. GoneGreen says:

    I know there are reasons to applaud Gov. Rell and reasons to consider not re-electing her. I personally liked her “one thing” campaign for saving energy. Very often as I shut down the computer, turn out lights, unplug the microwave , I say to myself, “Ok, Jodi, Here’s one thing.” I think that campaign matches her demeanor, “if there is something I can do, I will do it, I will make a difference and make the effort, in small ways and in her case-big ways.” Her personality reflects a graciousness and gentle courtesy that has been a refreshing delight from politics as usual. It is a disappointment to me that other elected officials did not follow her example and demonstrate cooperation instead of hostility and stonewalling. We could have gone a lot farther as a state over the past years if those in office put the people before their own agendas-how much of our money was wasted on grandstanding and fruitless debate? There is a lot to be said for someone who can be so pleasant where it would be too easy to express disgust.

  3. Sorry to go all off topic on you, Gerry. But you really have to jump on this NBA Spurs rabid bat story. I’d love to read your take on it.

Leave a Reply

