I Had A Ball

And I still do.  Lots of ’em.

My favorite story of the week was The Ball finally bouncing into the National Toy Hall of Fame

52830934TB010_Chicago

The Ball. Fun for all ages.

From base to basket to foot to billiard to golf to nerf to soft, there was not a ball that didn’t bounce around the Brooks house somewhere.

But the best ball was the simple rubber ball.  You could play with it indoors or outside.  It dramatically reduced potential for broken windows.  And when no one else was around, you could play catch with yourself by throwing it against the side of the house.

The Ball takes it place alongside The Stick and The Cardboard Box in the Hall of Fame.

And if they’re open to suggestions, I nominate The Rock.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, Toys and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Had A Ball

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Ever call ’em spaldeens?

  2. Linda says:

    My older daughter was fascinated by balls from the minute she was born! We collected all kinds of balls and had over 300 before I said enough! She was also very tall, so I thought she’d be a shoe-in for basketball. (I had hopes of a college scholarship.) She could get the ball into the hoop from anywhere on court, but, alas, she lacked the “killer” instinct. Which is a good thing, since she’s now a nurse!

  3. hendu says:

    I saw that comment coming

Leave a Reply

