Facebook: Purposely Annoying?

57042608

Facebook is watching you.

Why is Facebook so demanding?

It’s constantly after me to upgrade my browser, but I can’t because other services I use can’t handle the upgrade.

For a month, it made me sign in every damn time I clicked on it.

It’s telling me to “friend” people I’m already “friends” with.

And it’s telling me to “re-connect” with people I was never particularly connected to in the first place.

Facebookers are petitioning for a “dislike” button?  How about a “Facebook, leave me alone” button?

(Swear to god, as soon as I finished writing the last sentence, my computer went crazy.  The Facebook Force is not happy with me.)

Memo to Facebook:  go friend yourself.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Facebook: Purposely Annoying?

  1. Lori Galvin says:

    I am one of the few not on Facebook and have been thinking about joining…….think I’ll pass for now.

  2. Gerry, Flock is a very FB-friendly browser. I recommend it highly (available for PC or Mac).

    http://www.flock.com/

    The other annoying thing FB does is to urge me to “help make FB better for Herman Schwartz (or whoever).” These people joined, have decided they have little interest and FB wants me to do its job to get them re-interested in FB? Please.

    Eventually all the venture capitalists who have funded FB will get tired of losing money. FB still does not turn a profit, even with 300 million users. I suspect a pay model is somewhere in the future.

    • Gerry says:

      Thanks Terry. And it will be interesting to see to see how the web will evolve in the near future as sites like FB, Hulu, and newspapers ponder going pay.

  3. Linda says:

    I, too, am one of the few who isn’t on Facebook. Just about everyone where I work is on it. I do feel, at times, that I’m missing out on some things, but I just don’t need to know some of the things people are willing to tell on Facebook. The big thing my co-workers talk about is some game about farms. I’ve never seen 40-60 year olds get so excited about a computer game! I, too, am going to pass!

    • Gerry says:

      Linda and Lori, it’s not that Facebook is a bad thing. It’s just that it’s constantly nudging you to do things you don’t want to do. All I really want to do is post my blog there and have folks comment. And while I haven’t gone looking for anybody, a couple of old high school buddies found me, which is kind of fun.

  4. That’s the quote of the week right there…”Facebook: go go friend yourself.”

  5. (minus one “go” of course…my bad)

  6. Ditto. Go friend yourself’s a keeper

  7. I second the “Go Friend Yourself.” Facebook is becoming more Orwellian by the minute.

Leave a Reply

