Defrost Walt. Stat!

mickey-mouse-10

Our Mickey

Disney is giving Mickey Mouse a makeover

xScreen4_540x405

New Mickey

A “darker” Mickey will debut next year in (what else?) a video game.  I suppose this is either the latest sign of the apocalypse or a marketing masterstroke aimed at the next generation.  I just hope The Mouse doesn’t go all Mickey Rourke on us.  As for Minnie…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Media, News, Noticed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Defrost Walt. Stat!

  1. Rick D says:

    what a world!!

  2. Next thing you know, Mickey will go completely goth.

  3. abby says:

    Its a new obama look alike mickey

    • Gerry says:

      Abby, I wrestled with what to do about this comment. I don’t like it, but I don’t like censorship even more. So I’ll throw it out here in case anyone else wants to chew on it. Regardless, thanks for reading.

  4. graham says:

    Some things should be left well enough alone. Just another example of how “Disney” has become interested only in the $$$ of business. I was part of the opening-team at Walt Disney World in 1971 and by then Walt had died, but got to know his brother Roy a bit and I can tell you, they were not out just for the money.
    They truly believed that the American family needed a place to spend time together and have fun.
    Being in the “biz” for (many) years, I can tell you, Disney is all about the bucks now.

  5. Gerry, I can’t speak for Abby, but I suspect she was trying to suggest that Obama is a Mickey Mouse president — a view shared by millions of Americans. I doubt it was anything racial.

    • Gerry says:

      Fair enough. There didn’t seem to be any “hate” attached, so that’s why I published it. It has to be reallllly extreme for me to delete a comment.

  6. Thanks for the heads up on this one, Gerry. The late night comics are going to have a field ( mouse ) day with this story. And kudos for you for being on the lookout for nasty comments. Not saying this was one, but good to know you run a tight ship, given the comments we’ve all seen re Topix et al.

  7. Thanks for the shout out, Gerry. The interview with Mouse Man is the third post down on my blog. Last two posts are about this tragic story unfolding in Texas.

    This one’s big.

  8. Kevin says:

    I don’t like it, there’s nothing friendly about that Mickey, kinda reminds me of Felix the cat. They going to make Goofy more Badass too?

  9. Kevin

    Answer is yes. New name: Goodofy

  10. Kevin says:

    ah yes from the new Muammar Mickey line comes complete with Tent and pull string with 2 hour incoherent ramble.

  11. Bob Porrazzo says:

    I wonder myself what this world is coming to. If they did Bugs Bunny that way I’d be raising holy h-e-you know what!

Leave a Reply

