In The Bathroom…

Had lunch at the in laws’ today.  On the sink in their bathroom was Softsoap® Pomegranate & Mango soap.

07418226198_220x220_a

Yum?

Which, of course, got me to wondering who would think to combine pomegranate and mango.  I took a sniff after I squirted some in my hands, and it smelled good.  It smelled so good I actually wondered if it tasted as good as it smelled. 

I know from experience gathered at a very young age that a bar of Ivory soap does not taste good at all.  (I did not take that taste test voluntarily, by the way.  It immediately followed my very first and totally unknowing dropping of an “F-Bomb.”  As I recall, I said it loudly with gusto in front of my mother.) 

I did not taste the Softsoap® Pomegranate & Mango.  But I was tempted.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In The Bathroom…

  1. There’s this local farm store up the road. Among the stuff sold is home made soap. I picked up a bar. Vanilla. I got in the shower and started soaping up. The odor of vanilla wafted throughout the stall. It reminded me of the vanilla sodas I used to get for a dime at McGowen’s on Shop Row in Easthampton. The soap smelled so good I almost bit into it.

    If I had grown up washing up with this stuff, ” I’ll wash your mouth out with soap ” would have taken on a different meaning.

    And I would have have the foulest mouth in town. Until I got a taste of that bar.

  2. hendu says:

    Gotta taste better than Lifeboy. You better get that reference Brooks

  3. Make that ” I would have had…

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Sweeten your Cheerios with it. When you’re done, hey, the bowl is clean!

  5. Dan McCarthy says:

    I feel the same way about the various food-scented candles. Especially the chocolate-chip cookie ones.

  6. Kathryn D. says:

    I also remember the tast of Ivory.

    Have a great weekend since today is Saturday for you!

  7. Gerry's Mentor says:

    I know you have always been easily amused, but we are starting to border on approaching senility. I think the scalp is getting to much air.

    • Gerry says:

      I have always been easily amused. But senile? Not yet. My ultimate goal is to get there…many years from now. In the meantime, I’m just here to keep you honest.

  8. joene says:

    Visions of Ralphie.

  9. Peter N says:

    Summer camp. 1962 (or 3). Soap right where it hurt, foam included. The memories are dim but the taste is not. Never will be, either.

Leave a Reply

