The Urge To Purge

It has begun.  In one corner of the garage.  The Big Purge.  And this year, I feel a really big purge coming on.

It’s time to get rid of junk.  Stuff.  What Jim Shea called “clutter” in his column today in the Courant.

It has begun because I have the feeling I need to get it done.  I’m feeling ruthless.  I need to feel ruthless to throw stuff away.  One example today: an old can of car wax.  If I’m not feeling ruthless, I might think, “Oh, I’ll use this sooner or later,” and put it back on the shelf.  Today my thought was, “Who are you kidding?  You’re not gonna wax your car.  You hardly even wash the damn thing.”

Car wax gone.

It will get tougher when I reach the clothes closet.  (“Gee, I wore this shirt on that great vacation in…”)

And I will need to summon every ounce of ruthlessness when I descend to the basement to separate myself from personal memorabilia that I see only when I descend to the basement  to try and throw it out.  And fail.  Every single year.

Ironically, the easiest items to dispose of are the hardest.  Two boxes, full of plaques I’ve received over the years.  Some are acknowledgments for charity work or emceeing events.  Others are professional awards.  Each and every one was appreciated.  But with the exception of one plaque we have on display, I’m not a plaque guy.    

Still, I have this irrational fear that one day I throw them out, and the next day they’re in someone’s hands.  And that someone is thinking, “What an ungrateful S.O.B.” 

Look, if that happens and you find them?  Just scratch out my name and write in yours.  Then have a little awards ceremony for yourself.  Congrats!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Urge To Purge

  1. Philip Roth’s latest book is about two guys in NYC. Hoarders to the nth degree. It’s a true story. The guys were found dead in their apartment, crushed by the weight of the stuff they had accumulated.

    And. Go to You Tube. Type in: George Carlin. Stuff. One of his best bits ever. I could relate. We’re on the same page, Anchor Man. Yard sales for me are like funerals.

  2. #2 says:

    Could be a genetic defect passed down from the big guy :), may be time for an intervention.

  3. Linda says:

    I’ve been really good in my 50 plus years of not accumulating a lot of stuff. I have a small corner in the attic of important memories – mostly of my two daughters and a small collection in my hope chest of things from my life. The one thing I do regret purging is when I moved out of my parents’ house back in the early 70’s, I threw out my collection of letters from soldiers in the Viet Nam war. I was a penpal to nine wonderful guys – all strangers. We corresponded over the course of a few years and they sent me gifts from various places they were stationed. The letters contained war stories, stories about their childhoods, their girlfriends, their feelings about what was going on stateside. At age 22, I didn’t see the importance of keeping this history and I’ve regretted it ever since. Good luck with your purging.

  4. pete says:

    i’ll take the car wax, ger… thanks!

  5. Debra Alfarone says:

    Gerry, I think you should watch my special sweeps piece called “Sell Your Stuff” Monday night. Actually, you kinda have to – it’s in the 11p show.

  6. Michele says:

    Seriously Gerry, you are like the funniest man I know. Your posts make me crack up. I miss 30! (although I don’t miss your love of the Red Sox) Go Yankees!

  7. hendu says:

    I’ll come over. I’m cold and heartless. All emotion will be taken out. I can do it when you are at work. Let a pro handle it. My “stuff” theory, if you haven’t opened it in a year then you don’t need it.

  8. tkline98 says:

    Watch out for that plaque buildup. It can be hard to get rid of.

Leave a Reply

