My Little Tree

I am a foliage freak. 

This is the one time of year I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.  It doesn’t last long, and soon enough, with the leaves on the ground, I’ll be dreaming of leaving BDL for the warmth of ABH (Anywhere But Here.)

My little tree

My little tree

Set against a bright blue sky, I thoroughly enjoy our autumn colors.  And until Saturday night’s heavy rain and wind, I had been thoroughly enjoying my contribution to the autumn tableau.  My little tree.

We planted it six years ago.  It’s taken shape quite nicely, and produces perfectly yellow foliage.  I’ve enjoyed standing by the window in the morning, cup of coffee in hand, admiring this natural work in progress.

The house we live in won’t be ours forever.  But when we move on, I may put a rider in the contract that the future owners will have to send me an annual picture of my little tree.

I’ll want to see it when it’s someone else’s big tree.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Little Tree

  1. My father died in the spring. We buried him on opening day of the 1986 Red Sox season. He missed that great year ( Or did he? Maybe he was up in the last row, way up there in Fenway. An Irish guy sitting next to the guys with the harps. )

    Soon after dad died we had a house built for us on the south coast of Rhode Island. Our first Christmas there we planted a tree. A Balsam ( Our address was Balsam Road )

    We called it ” Dad’s Tree. ”

    Whenever I poured myself a drink, I’d raise the glass and whisper: Here’s to ya, dad.

    We sold that house last year and moved to a place on the south coast of North Carolina. I don’t miss the house. I have no regrets about leaving that hood in New England.

    Dad’s tree? I miss it.

    Nice post.

    • Gerry says:

      Thanks. I know what you mean. I don’t miss our previous house, but I feel awful when I drive by and see the shrubs my late father and I planted have been replaced.

  2. graham says:

    Makes me think about the trees my dad and I planted on Cape Cod. We bought them from the extension service about 40 years ago and they were Japanese Pines only about 6-8 inches tall. Some died right away and a few over the years, but most are still standing (35-40 ft tall) and provide great shade, color and privacy all year long. We will probably retire to that house so in this case I’ll be able to enjoy them for many years to come (I hope).

  3. Cathy says:

    I know you posted this about a week ago,but I just finished reading it,and what a wonderful post.Being a New Englander all my life~it is the beautiful colors of autumn ,that makes the Fall season so enjoyable.Born and raised in Maine,I have witnessed spectacular foliage up there,while driving with my parents on a Sunday,peering out the back window with my brother(not wearing seatbelts mind you).Then stopping at a roadside hamburger joint(Watkins Grove in Grey,Maine) and getting the best burger ever!!! Thanks for the memory….

Leave a Reply

