Way To Go, Hartford

No, not the city.  The sub.  The USS Hartford.

Kudos to the crew!

Kudos to the crew!

The Navy just sent out a news release, saying the crew of the USS Hartford “received a squadron Letter of Commendation for going a thousand days without any of its nearly 140 sailors being involved in any driving under the influence (DUI) incidents. ”

This is certainly good news, and I mean no disrespect whatsoever to the crew of the Hartford and everyone who serves our nation, but is staying clean and sober behind the wheel really deserving of a commendation? 

I mean, it’s like, ummm…the law.  That’s it.  Yeah.  The law.

Of greater concern, I suppose, is that the news release doesn’t quite mention whether the Navy is referring to driving a car or truck, or driving the sub.

This was, after all, the sub that collided with the USS New Orleans last March in the Strait of Hormuz.

At least they’re finishing the year strong.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Way To Go, Hartford

  1. One of the problems is that submarine captains are getting older, baby boomers who should be forced to retire and give up their ” drivers licenses. ” I was on a sailboat in Long island Sound last summer. We spotted a sub heading back to Groton. It had its turn signal on for at least 45 minutes. And for a nuclear sub, it was going WAY too slow.

    And, of course, there’s the drinking. Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum and all that.

  2. Doug says:

    nice, terrence!

    yeah gerry that does seem off-kilter. and that’s a nuclear sub, of course, because they’re all nuclear now. . .

  3. Thanks Doug. But I may have spoken too soon. Did a little research. The day of the S.S. Hartford rear ender? That was the day they let mayor Eddie Perez take the wheel. Some kind of photo op gone terribly wrong.

  4. Gerry

    Not a Buick. One of the fleet’s smaller vessels.

    A sub compact.

  5. One more thing, then I’m focusing on the Phillies/Dodgers contest.

    Hartford must surely be cursed. Number one on the list of disasters to collide with New Orleans recently: Katrina.

    Number two: A ship named Hartford.

    I don’t know who’s responsible in City Hall to improve the Insurance City’s image. Would I want that job? Nope.

  6. Chip Gorra says:

    When I was a kid growing up in New London, my father used to take us down to Pequot Avenue in the evening to watch the ‘submarine races’. I always wondered why we never saw any submarines…LOL

  7. Rick D says:

    Gerry, And to think… I’m getting to read all these one liners for free. and there is no drink minimum. Thanks!

  8. graham says:

    At 61 years old, I’ve NEVER been accused of driving under the influence, and I’ve been driving since I was 16 years old. So shouldn’t I get a letter of commendation from say…….the President?
    He seems to have time to talk to everyone else in the country, so why not ME!

  9. Kathryn D. says:

    Graham-the key word here appears to be “accused”. Yes, I would certainly make a referral for a Presidential commendation for you! Maybe you will be invited for a beer as well…..:)

  10. graham says:

    Thanks, make mine a Bud:)

Leave a Reply

