A Moment

One of the things I’ve always enjoyed about writing and reporting for television is marrying words and pictures.  (The better the pictures, the fewer the words.)

I spotted this scene in my comings and goings.  This time of year, words are hardly necessary.

Foliage 001

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Moment

  1. Nice. Where is that exactly? Farmington River?

  2. I won’t go there.I’ll go there.You know what I mean.

  3. Curious in Tampa says:

    “The better the pictures, the fewer the words.”

    So, at what point do you think things balance out? I mean when does the number of words equal one picture?

    • Gerry says:

      Dear Curious,

      There’s no formula. You just know. It’s all about “feel.” Sometimes you just “feel” the story thanks to great pictures.

      Sincerely,
      Gerry

      • Curious in Tampa says:

        So, you’re saying that no matter how many words you write, even if you wrote, say, a thousand words, it would never be the equivalent of just one picture?

        That just seems so weird to me. Y’know?

      • Gerry says:

        Mathematicians have told me this is a highly variable formula. Most people believe a picture is worth a thousand words. But in reality, they say it’s worth anywhere between 6 and 274 words, depending on the quality, color and composition. And there is no deduction for black and white.

      • Curious in Tampa says:

        Yeah, that’s what I figured.

      • Gerry says:

        (Sigh of relief.)

  4. Mike says:

    As ever was…

  5. Peter N says:

    Sheer perfection.
    Just now I saw a story about a young boy floating away in(?) a hot air helium balloon. I hope he is found and OK. I’ll be watching NBC30 at 5pm.

Leave a Reply

