It’s Demolicious!

The demolition of the old Channel 30 building is not unlike carving a Halloween pumpkin.  You cut a hole, scoop out the insides, and eventually smash the shell.   Fascinating to watch.

P1000052

Nothing but echoes in this studio.

Nothing but echoes in this studio.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Demolicious!

  1. Paul Rosazza says:

    Wow! It’s kind of weird to see. In part I’m sad, a good chunk of my life was spent in the brick pile. On the other hand it’s 20+ years too late.

  2. Sean Withers says:

    Weird to see, but hopefully I’ll get to see the new building!

  3. We now live 30 miles from a place where I spent a significant slice of my life. I was stationed at Myrtle Beach AFB in the late 60s. The government closed the base in 1993. Just about every military building was torn down. The original plan was to build a theme park on the land once occupied by us airmen. That plan fell through. Today there is a large ” Market Common ” and lots of condos on the real estate where barracks and quonset huts once stood. It’s the weirdest feeling when I go back there to visit the place where I lived and worked for a year and a half. I remember it all like it was yesterday. But the buildings I remember are all gone. I have this image in my mind that is nothing like the way it is now. I’m happy to see you took and you’re taking pictures of your old stompling ground. I took not one picture of the base where I was stationed. All I have are my memories. I regret not using a camera. I’m sure some of my recollections aren’t accurate.

    • Gerry says:

      The journalist in me wants to record this for posterity. The building served us well for a long time, and owed us nothing. Its site will make a lovely parking lot.

  4. Lovely parking lot. Military intelligence. Jumbo shrimp. Do I sense a pattern here?

Leave a Reply

