October

The month we dig our fingernails into the calendar, and slowly slide and screech our way down.

From daylight to darkness.

From warmth to chill.

From green to reds and yellows and oranges to brown.

To November. 

Ugh.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to October

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    Thank you for validating my feelings about autumn.

  2. Debra Alfarone says:

    Serious ugh.

  3. Autumn. That’s when we start thinking pumpkin pie, and apple cider, and fairs. November is too close to winter and winter equals depression……blecch.

  4. Lori Galvin says:

    “November always seemed to me the Norway of the year.”
    – Emily Dickinson

  5. Kathryn D. says:

    Ditto to all! I am glad I am not alone.

    Thank you.

  6. Linda says:

    You do have a way with words, Gerry. Looks like I’m the lonely one. I love October through March. There’s a brightness, clarity and coziness in the fall and winter you can’t get in the summer. Some people have seasonal disorder when the cold and darkness brings depression….I actually perk up. I have more energy and smile a lot more. I just love it! And I’m loving October more this year because my daughter is getting married next Friday!

  7. The following is a list of the things we’re going to miss re: New England winters as we settle into our second year down here in North Carolina:

  8. graham says:

    Don’t forget to start the snow-blower this weekend! Better make sure it’s ready!!!

  9. Mike says:

    Um… before the first frost, we’re outahere…

    The Keys… ‘way south, where they have never had a frost. It’s the only place in the lower 48 who can bost f this. Look for us on the Hog’s Breath web am.

    yum.

    Keep up the good work!

    Mike

  10. Hey! Don’t knock October..it’s the month I was born in!

Leave a Reply

