Got A Buck?

A few new laws went into effect in Connecticut on Thursday. 

The one that no longer effects me is the one I can most identify with.  The cigarette tax went up a buck.  I quit two years ago, and thank heaven I rarely have a craving.  I can be in a room with a smoker and not have a problem.

I find this nothing short of amazing, because there was a time I thought I would never be able to quit.  I could live the rest of my life without another Jack on the rocks, or without another medium rare filet.  But without smokes?  Unthinkable. 

But think again.  It happened. 

If you’re a smoker panicking over the cost of a pack of cigarettes, fuggedaboudit.  You will find a way to pay for them.  You want them, you love them, you need them, you are addicted to them.  You may sacrifice something else, but you will find a way to pay for them.  I know.

When you quit, it will be because you want to.  You really, really want to.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Got A Buck?

  1. Kathryn D. says:

    Luckily, I never smoked…but congratulations many times over for quitting…I understand it is very difficult. I am very pleased and proud of you and for you. You just might set an example and provide an incentive for others who would like to give it up also!

  2. Betty says:

    I smoked for 40 years and have been a nonsmoker for 8 months. Unlike you, Gerry, I still have cravings. However, the thought of paying that much for cigarettes stops those cravings very quickly. Now if I can convince my loved ones to do the same, we would all live a little longer!

  3. Gerry, I think we need a new $5/bottle tax on wine. Ooops, most of the General Assembly like their cabernets. So let’s go after the smokers and the lottery ticket buyers.

    In other words, let’s tax people who are too addicted or too stupid to know what’s good for them. Then if they wise up or control their addictions, where do we get revenue?

Leave a Reply

