Vampire Weekend

In my world, “new music” is pretty much anything released after 1985.  Which made an iTunes purchase this week a major event.

I bought “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa.”  You know.  “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa.”  Yeah, that “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa.”  By Vampire Weekend. 

I was clicking here and there through the iTunes store, one click led to another, and somehow I ended up clicking on this song.  Naturally, the title hooked me.  So I listened, and I liked it. 

But before I invested my $0.99, I googled Vampire Weekend.  Four guys who met at Columbia.  But what got me was the tidbit that the singer and drummer had been members of a “comedy-rap” band called “L’Homme Run.”  This, I found irresistible.  They were worth the $0.99, if only for that.

I went into work, and proudly informed the kids I bought something by Vampire Weekend.  I was waiting for, “Wow, you’re into Vampire Weekend?  Cool.”  Instead I got, “Who?”

And then, Debra Alfarone, the fabulous Debra Alfarone, whipped out her iPhone and started playing Vampire Weekend.  Hey, if Alfarone knows, then I’m plugged in.

And with that, have yourselves a Vampire Weekend.  I will, because, after all, Friday is the new Saturday.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, People, Toys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vampire Weekend

  1. A couple of things. I like the music. Kind of The Police meet They Might Be Giants ( Now THERE is a sci fi concept ) And any group that has the word ” vampire ” in it is bound for glory. Vampires are hot.

  2. Linda says:

    Vampires are still pretty hot, but according to the Publishing sector, zombies are the new hot thing in books. However, a recent journal publication announced that zombies are out and witches are in. I don’t know what’s coming next! Give me a good old human boy meets girl kind of plot. Enjoy your weekend….you’ve got 2 good days. Sunday’s going to rain, so having to work isn’t going to be so bad.

  3. graham says:

    I’ll stick with the Beach Boys thank you.
    Next time I’m on the Cape, I’ll call you if we see any vampires………..
    Have a bloody good weekend!

  4. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry:

    Enjoy the weekend! You will have two great weather days as promised by Brad. Will look for you and Keisha Sunday night after the game!

  5. Debra Alfarone says:

    Gerr, Gerr, Gerr, a shout-out on your hyper-exclusive blog? You sure do know how to treat a girl. I’m beaming, no, really. And you ARE plugged in.

  6. Pingback: Gaga « The Brooks File

Leave a Reply

