Station Identification

Over the years, call letters have largely lost their significance for television and radio stations. 

We, for example, are WVIT.  Seldom does someone ask, “How’s everything at ‘VIT?,” and when they do, I’m surprised.  We’ve been called “Channel 30,” “NBC30,” and now, “NBC Connecticut.”  (I, personally, have been called many other things.)

The number 30 started to drift into irrelevancy when cable came along.  Most viewers know us as Channel 4.  (“Hey, you work for Channel 4!  Yeah, I’m Chuck Scarborough.”)    

In July, we left “30” behind when we moved into our new building, armed to the teeth for the digital era.  It’s still strange to answer the phone, “NBC Connecticut.”  Most callers respond, “What?”  I’m waiting for the day when someone says, “Hey, you work for NBC Connecticut.”   It’ll happen.  Eventually.  It takes time for change to sink in.

Mary, Sue Ann, and Mur'

Mary, Sue Ann, and Mur'

Maybe we could use a celebrity spokesman.  KCBS/KCAL in Los Angeles is using “Lou Grant” himself as a pitchman.  Maybe Murray Slaughter’s available for us, though I think Sue Ann Nivens is the way to go.

And WBBM in Chicago has dipped into its long-gone glory days and recruited former anchor Bill Kurtis (very funny in the AT&T ads) as its pitchman.

Maybe we could get Pat Sheehan.  No…he worked for everyone but 30. 

Let’s see…there’s Van Hackett…Bob Mayer…Toby Moffett.  Nah.  Wait!  Who says we need a he?  We’ve got our very own “Mary”…

But would she?

"Hello, I'm the woman formerly known as..."

"Hello, I'm the woman formerly known as..."

 Update “Not in this lifetime,” says the WPA (woman pictured above.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Media, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Station Identification

  1. Renee says:

    Gerry,
    I am an oldie but goodie, I still refer to Channel 30 as Channel 30 or WVIT.
    A great picture of Joanne, what a great anchor she was.

    • Joan says:

      I miss Joanne Nesti. I love all the on-air personalities now, but wish she didn’t decide to leave several years back. How many has it been?

      • Gerry says:

        Joanne left on December 15, 2006. At 11:32 pm. But who’s counting?
        We remain the best of friends, and let me assure you she is quite happy, and has no regrets about her decision to call it a day.

  2. I’m reminded of how we newspaper reporters used to end our stories:

    -30-

    And I agree. Those Bill Kurtis ads are terrific.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    People will start saying NBC Connecticut when the button on the remote says NBC Connecticut.

  4. Hell, I still call it WHNB sometimes!!!

    Let’s start a petition to bring the WPA back in a cameo…

    If nominated I will not run, if elected I will not serve…..

  5. Bob Porrazzo says:

    Gerry, even though way way way down here in Fairfield County we get NBC CT on cable 6, EVEN I STILL CALL IT CHANNEL 30 or WVIT or NBC30. Though NBC CT makes sense as it is the only NBC station IN THE STATE can you imagine 3 calling itself CBS CT or 8 ABC CT or 61 Fox CT?

    Well Philly did something like this with WTXF Fox Philadelphia. Eventually they went back to being Fox 29, a dial spot dating back to them being independent WTAF-TV or even (dig this Marshall) WIBF-TV

    And to Li’l Em-Kel, my cable box has WVIT listed and even for News “NBC 30 CT News at 5” (or 6 and 11). From the fine folks at Cablevision.

    And you know another thing missing from TV these days…ever remember when stations signed off the air for the night? Well, folks, how many of you remember THIS GEM?

  6. ellery says:

    I have been a loyal viewer f0r the past 30+ years of your station. Your competition doesn’t “hold a candle in the wind” compared to your team. Please pass this along to everyone including behind the scene people that make it happen. Also, your weather is not only fun and interesting, but also the most accurate compared to any of the other regional networks. Keep up the great broadcasts.
    However, I’m disappointed with the absence of Anjuli Porter.
    What happened? I returned from vacationing in St. Thomas and haven’t seen her since. I thought she was very good @ communicating to the viewers and was a good weekend anchor that was articulate and brought a spark to the weekend broadcast.
    Just curious… Keep up the outstanding work.

    Thank-you in advance

Leave a Reply

