Just Browsing

imagesThe message from Facebook:  You may want to upgrade your browser. You’re using an old version of Internet Explorer to browse Facebook right now. Facebook will work better for you if you upgrade or switch to another browser.  (Internet Explorer 8, Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome)

images-1The message from YouTube:  We will be phasing out support for your browser soon.
Please upgrade to one of these more modern browsers.  (Google Chrome, Internet Explorer 8, Firefox 3.5)

OK, I get it.  This is part of the Facebook/YouTube conspiracy to take over the world, right?  It’s not enough that they suck you in and make you spend hours at the computer when you meant to spend minutes.  Now they want to tell you how to run your computer.

So I upgraded the laptop to IE8, but I kept the desktop browser on IE7.  Why?

images-2The message from NBC Remote Access:
Use anything but Internet Explorer 7, and the Peacock will bite your ass.

 (The Peacock is very, very persuasive.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, Noticed and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Browsing

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    The peacock is very persuasive, indeed…

  2. jack t says:

    The times, they are a-changin, Gerry.
    If you’re not using Firefox, you’re missing out on a lot of great add-ons and such, makes browsing lots and lots easier and more fun.
    NBC is actually lagging with the update to IE8…

  3. tom says:

    Jack is correct,Firefox is the way to go,and it’s easy because it mimicks IE first,then adds goodies only as you wish.
    Even us ‘old timers’ get it.
    And it is Much safer

  4. Linda says:

    I agree with Jack and Tom – Firefox is the best choice. At the Library, we switched all the computers over to Firefox to minimize virus problems and it’s been great. Have the fellas with NBC Remote Access do a little research. I know there have been several independent articles about Firefox vs. IE.

  5. Scott says:

    As an IT professional (and web developer), I will not use any site that requires a specific browser and will only work on that one browser. Any site that does that is severely limiting their potential customer base. Plus, I am a Mac guy so I don’t have access to IE on my home and (one of) my work computers. 😉

    Go with Firefox or Google Chrome – they are faster and easier (in my opinion as well as most other IT professionals) than IE.

    Regardless of the browser you use, make sure it is always up-to-date! FF will have security holes if you don’t get the latest version.

  6. Bill says:

    I hate the upgrade demands, but I do it anyway. BTW – I’m glad I didn’t have to buy a new TV when you moved to the new building. 🙂

  7. pete says:

    gerry, you can actually run firefox off one of those little thumb drives. thats what i used to do. tends to thwart the website tracking attached to your login as well…

    the peacock just wants you to think it knows. but it really has no idea. it’s kind of like government…

Leave a Reply

