The Difference Between Winning And Losing

“I used to think that awards were just shallow tokens of momentary popularity.  But now, I realize they’re the only true measure of a person’s real worth as a human being.”   (Jon Cryer, after finally winning an Emmy)

What was with the sweater?  Click on his name.

What was with the sweater? Click on his name.

What a great line.  If it was ad libbed, he’s a genius.  If he prepared it just in case, it’s still fabulous.

I haven’t entered a contest in years, but I do remember that, as they say, “being nominated is an honor.” 

Until the second they announce someone else’s name as the winner. 

There’s winning, then there’s…nothing.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Difference Between Winning And Losing

  1. I think the big winner at the Emmys last night was Vanessa Williams, who refused to go along with the ill conceived glasses bit. That was a bad idea, and she did the right thing.

    All in all though, a pretty good show. Made me think: I should be watching more television.

    • Gerry says:

      I was at work, so I didn’t see much of the show, but I saw Cryer’s quote when it crossed the AP wire, and it cracked me up. Neil Patrick Harris got rave reviews as host.
      More TV? Look into my eyes and repeat after me: Watch Jay Leno. Watch Jay Leno. Watch Jay Leno…

  2. I gotta connect with my former Hartford colleague ( and UConn grad ) Mike Jann to see if he’s still on Leno’s writing staff. You played against Mike back in the 80s in the Ad Club Softball League. I think he was working, and playing for O’Neill and Prelle in that brownstone by the park. Not sure if Mike went with Leno when he transitioned to prime time. One of the funnier friends I’ve had, and he’s cashed in on it big time.

Leave a Reply

