Death Be Not Sad

I read the obits.  Why?   Janet Rose of West Hartford is a good example.  I didn’t know Ms. Rose, but I wished I had after her obituary caught my eye.

Janet Rose

Janet Rose

Unfortunately, she did not die of her disease of choice, heart disease (brought on by a steady diet of maple syrup and sweetened condensed milk).”

And that was just the beginning.

If you too would like to “meet” Ms. Rose, here’s the entire obit.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Death Be Not Sad

  1. Nice catch, Gerry. Very nice. Glad you gave us the chance to read it.

  2. heather says:

    thanks, gerry.

  3. Linda says:

    Thanks Gerry. I would never have read that if not for you. I hope I’m remembered that way – with love and humor. What a way to go!!

  4. Wendy says:

    Thanks for introducing me to a lovely, delightful lady! What a wonderful obituary. Would that they all could be a celebration of the person!!

  5. Katie Daly says:

    What a beautiful life. Wish I had known her when I lived in West Hartford.

  6. Goodnight Mrs. Rose…wherever you are.

  7. Mike says:

    Whoever wrote that obit, not only knew her but loved her as well. I’ like you Ger, read these things and it’s rare to find one so articulate.

    Mike

  8. Stephanie says:

    Janet was my mom.

    Like you, she also loved reading the obits- it was the first thing she read each day and she would call me and her friends to share the good ones. I knew that I had to write her the best obituary ever; one that she would have adored, one that made all others pale in comparison, one that captured a bit of her zest for life and her spirit. I am heartbroken to go on without her. Thanks for posting this- it helps to know that even those who didn’t know her also mourn her loss!
    P.S. She really always did say that “heart disease is my disease of choice”.

    • Gerry says:

      Stephanie, my condolences. Your Mom passed too soon, but it sounds like she enjoyed every moment she had.
      I’m sure it’s small consolation, but a lot of people saw this particular post and clicked on the obituary.
      And yes, Stephanie, it was the best obituary ever.

  9. awalkabout says:

    It certainly was the best tribute to a woman who seemed to have indomitable spirit. Thank you for sharing it with us. I’ve passed it on as well, She should be remembered.

    Babs

Leave a Reply

