A Shiny Happy Face

9630_1222924020298_1444902124_30627302_1109621_nHe’s Nick.  He’s four, and he’s going to school for the very first time.  Pre-K.

Like so many proud parents do, Nick’s mom posted his pictures on Facebook. 

He’s wearing a Red Sox backpack about half his size, and a smile that says, “I’m off to a great adventure.  Yeah, I’m a little concerned, but don’t worry Ma, I’ll be OK.”

Nick’s smile made me smile.  That’s because I’ve been thinking about poor Annie Le, and how she’ll never get the chance to realize her years of dedication to her education.

Over the years, I’ve tried not to dwell on the victims of awful crimes.  There have been far too many.  But maybe I’m getting older.  Or softer. 

And now it’s Nick’s turn, that big backpack ready to be filled up with hopes and dreams and eventually goals to be met and surpassed.

Yeah, bad things happen.  But so many more good things do too.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, News, Noticed, People and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Shiny Happy Face

  1. hendu says:

    Well done Brooksie. Wait till Dad findsout his son is a blog topic. I can almost see his head flip

  2. blissbait says:

    Wow. I’m so sorry for your loss, whatever it may have been, and I cheer you for sharing this most blissful, joyously anticipatory grin that eats up the whole sky and everything I’ve been worrying about today.

    Thank You, Nick, his mother, and everyone everywhere who shares the lighter side.

    May All Beings Be Happy.

    • Gerry says:

      Hi Blissbait. I’m referring to the murder of Yale grad student Annie Le in New Haven. I work in television news in Connecticut. Thanks for dropping in.

  3. Barbara Muzio says:

    Beautiful picture of ou grandson. Isnt he beautiful as are his sisters.

  4. Lori Galvin says:

    I really enjoy your blog Gerry and I especially loved this one. Great writing, even if you are a Patriots fan. Go GIANTS!

Leave a Reply

