September Eleventh

58282526(This was my post a year ago.)

I’ve never referred to the day, in writing or speaking, as 9/11. 

It seems too easy, too convenient.  Too “branded.”  It lacks the heft the date and the event commands.

It is September Eleventh.  

It just needs to be said that way.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to September Eleventh

  1. Kathryn D. says:

    Very respectful and appropriate – just like the weather today.

  2. soundbounder says:

    I have always hated the 9-11 term as well.
    I try to to make it a point to write and say “September 11”

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    I agree.

    Why utilize a complement of merely four syllabificationary executions in a particular communicational identification when an alternative and extensional option allows the appendage of two additional articulations to achieve the identical expression?

  4. Just between you and me, Gerry. Li’l em is a Mensa guy. Sometimes he just can’t help himself. But he’s one of the best guys I’ve known. Forgive him for that gibberish.

    Points well taken on your thoughts re: September eleventh. And wasn’t that incident on the Potomac today interesting?

  5. Well, 9/11 is better than what some others call it: “Nine-One-One.” That’s the number everyone was dialing after running up Broadway.

Leave a Reply

