Round Up The Usual Suspects

I would say a chilly, rainy day was perfect to mark September 11th, but I remember what a perfectly perfect day it was 8 years ago until…

The Dearly Beloved and I spent the damp evening watching two movies we’ve always meant to see start-to-finish and never had. 

The first was 22-year-old Moonstruck.  And what really struck us, aside from the great performances by Cher, Cage, Dukakis, Aiello, Gardenia, and the rest were the shots of the World Trade Center.  On September 11th.  What are the odds?

Fate works in strange ways.

We then moved on to the 67-year-old Casablanca.  Believe it or not, we had never seen it start-to-finish. 

And at the conclusion, when Claude Rains told his men, “Round up the usual suspects,” it just seemed a fitting end to the day.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, News, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Round Up The Usual Suspects

  1. Did you know that Theo Epstein’s granddad and granduncle wrote the screenplay for Casablanca? I can’t get over this, and bring it up so much on my blog that ” the usual suspects ” i.e. my readers, are threatening to revolt next time I mention it.

  2. I think we have lives. You’re like me – you tend to remember things and connect the dots. Kind of an important trait to have for us generalist journalists. Although there are times when I think: Why do I need to save this on my hard drive?

    Just picked up Richard Russo’s new book at B&N. Know if he hs any book signings planned for around here? ( Heh heh )

  3. Will do, Li’l em Conroy

Leave a Reply

