The Courant Makes The News. Again.

Alysa Auriemma tells the Associated Press she’s joined the Hartford Courant to help cover her father’s basketball team.    According to the AP, she’ll post articles on her blog, which will be linked to the Courant’s web site.

My friend Duby McDowell is handling the questions of credibility and ethics on her blog, as is Paul Stern, who administers the Courant Alumni blog (and is not a Courant hater).

My thoughts are with my colleagues who have lost their jobs at the Courant because of cutbacks.  Why?  Well, I’m sure this line from the AP article sent them to the medicine cabinet for Pepto Bismol:  She said The Courant is paying her “a pretty good amount per article” but declined to say how much she’ll be paid.  ($125 a pop, according to Courant sports editor Jeff Otterbein, who apparently senses a potential problem.)

I’ve been having an ongoing debate with myself over continuing my own subscription.  As a journalist, I can’t fathom not getting the paper, and I do want to support the survivors on Broad St.   But then there’s this from the AP article:   The 23-year-old…said she’ll take readers behind the scenes, but will not write anything controversial about her father’s team. 

So if Maya and Tina have a ‘throwdown’ at practice, you won’t hear it from Alysa.

Hey, I’ve had the pleasure of hearing Alysa sing at the Little Theater of Manchester.  The girl has talent.  She’s a creative person.  And her father’s always been OK in my book.

But do I want to keep spending my money for this?  I suppose I will. 

One well-respected denizen of Broad St. posted this wish on Facebook the other day:  “…hoping this week America’s oldest continuously published newspaper gets back to reporting the news rather than making it.” 

Sorry, big guy.  Maybe next week.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, News, People, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Courant Makes The News. Again.

  1. How painful it has been to watch America’s oldest continuously published newspaper get run into the ground by the gang that couldn’t shoot straight.

    What on earth are they thinking? Are they thinking at all? I think we both know the answer to that question.

  2. Just look at their TV station..they now run the paper….

  3. Graham says:

    Remember about 5 months ago I said we are entering the last year of the Hartford Courant? I wonder if they’ll make it 7 more months. We have not subscribed for years. I used to LOVE that paper, but I don’t even miss it now. My favorite paper today is the Cape Cod Times. They are a throwback to the old newspaper days. Some national news, some local news and its pretty courant, no pun intended.
    Next time any of you are on the Cape, pick one up and while here in CT. go online and enjoy them there. I read it each morning in my office with my first cup of coffee.

  4. I just finished reading Pat Conroy’s latest novel, ” South of Broad. ” It’s set in Charleston, SC. If someone were to write a novel about the slippery slope a newspaper’s on, set in Hartford, a good title might be ” Going South on Broad. ”

    Gino’s daughter’s job will not be journalism. It will be public relations. This isn’t a good thing.

  5. Linda says:

    I have never read the Hartford Courant, but I’ve been following the news about it through this blog. I’ve been touched by Gerry’s concern about the demise of a great institution and it’s staff and I’ve enjoyed the comments the blog has generated. I thought the Consumer Reporter’s exit was about as bad as it could get, but the hiring of Alysa Auriemma is just beyond comprehension. It must be incredibly hard for the remaining staff to go to work every day.

  6. Donna says:

    You’ve probably already discussed the incredibly bad website the Courant has – I had it as my home page for years as a registered user, always tried to click on the ads hoping that might help. But I had to remove it because half the time it won’t even come up and I’m left staring at an empty page. Why bother posting headlines (like today – Crash on I-91 in Cromwell stopping traffic). Click on it. The entire story is the headline, now as a complete sentence. In fact, the way I got here was to click on a link for more info… the link is about Cheshire, not Cromwell. So very, very sad.

  7. Anne says:

    How does writing about one’s father’s team, but promising to not include anything controversial get remunerated as reporting? It is highly suspect in terms of any journalistic ethics. It is NOT REPORTING, it is BLOGGING! How far the Courant has fallen from when we first subscribed 30 years ago. Now they do not really even cover town meetings or new. I have to pick up the Journal-Inquirer to get Enfield news, and the Wall Street Journal to get world/ national news that has not been pirated from another wire service. I will probably be canceling my subscription and switch to the Wall Street Journal. I love the Cape Cod Times, too by the way but I don’t want to get it without the scent of salt air and ocean that comes when I usually get it at the Cape. But I lost my teaching job to “budget cuts”, (they built a fancy new high school with a wasteful atrium instead and let ALL of the older returning to teach Moms with higher step levels and higher salaries go, and my hubby’s company is a flailing bird in the dungheap, getting downgraded, outsourcing and laying people off every week, so no Cape Cod Times to read at the Cape Cup in Orleans for us. I think that the rank nespotism involved with Alyssa Auriemma’s Blog post and pay check is just an example of how poorly it ranks a newspaper.

Leave a Reply

