Tango Japanalia

Perusing the wires last night when I came across this story.  A Japanese couple won a major competition at the Tango Dance World Championship in Buenos Aires.  That’s not unlike Argentina building the best-selling car in Japan (if only Argentina built cars).

But what I liked best about the story was that it gave me the opportunity to sneak back to Buenos Aires.  March, 2007.  The Dearly Beloved and I had a great time in a wonderful city, and it included a night at the Carlos Gardel Tango Show.

Carlos Gardel-7

The DB had made the plans (as usual), and I just went along (as usual).  And sitting at a table on the balcony with a bottle of Malbec, I was totally taken with the grace and athleticism of the dancers who filled up the stage.

That’s why I call travel the gift that keeps on giving.  You absorb an atmosphere, an environment, a culture, a moment, and when you least expect it, you can dial it up and take yourself away again, if only for a moment or two.

And when it was over, I went back to writing the Eddie Perez story.  (Sigh.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, News, Noticed, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tango Japanalia

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Digital cameras are nice, but analog memories are better.

  2. Dan McCarthy says:

    Argentina does build cars. Most famously, Ford has a plant there. They’re still a bit behind the times though- they didn’t discontinue the Falcon in Argentina until 1991!

Leave a Reply

