One Thing At A Time

How much technology can you juggle?

How much technology can you juggle?

If I’m writing something, I can’t be listening to my iPod.

If I’m reading something, I can’t be having a telephone conversation at the same time.

I don’t multi-task.  I can’t multi-task.  I can only do one thing well at a time.

I used to be somewhat envious of the younger people around me (OK, OK, they’re almost all younger) who seemed to be able to juggle two things at once.  Or three.  (Like checking their Crackberries while they’re on the phone and surfing the internet.)

But a new report confirms what I’ve come to suspect.  They may be able to do a lot of things at once, but they may not be doing them very well.  As a matter of fact, they may be doing them quite poorly.

Whew.  For a while there I thought I was falling behind.

But I’m really staying a step ahead.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, News, Noticed and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Thing At A Time

  1. Kevin says:

    There’s a great new book on this, “The Myth of Multitasking: How ‘Doing It All’ Gets Nothing Done.”

    BTW, Gerry, your blog is the tops.

Leave a Reply

