Memphis, Massachusetts

“I’m not worried about it because they have never said Coach Cal did anything wrong at all.  I think he’s a very upstanding guy. I think that’s his reputation and I think that reputation will be with him here. I really don’t foresee any problems.” — Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear

Memphis has to vacate its 38 win season that brought it to the men’s basketball Final Four in 2008.  Just like my UMass had to vacate its victories in its one-and-only Final Four season in 1996.  (L’affaire Marcus Camby.)

Both teams were coached by John Calipari, who departed Memphis and UMass just ahead of the long arm of the NCAA.

Former UConn athletic director Lew Perkins tried to warn me way back when, but I was blinded by the light. 

Good luck, Kentucky.  Calipari at UK and Pitino at Louisville.  Wow, wow, wow.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, People, Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memphis, Massachusetts

  1. swami says:

    Calipari is a drive-by coach: swoops in, creates initial excitement and ultimate chaos, then leaves it all behind.

  2. Again, gag me with a spoon, he should be kicked out of college basketball….just imagine if it were a student.

  3. Graham says:

    But the BEST basketball at UMASS was in 1969-70 when Dr. J played there!
    It was and EVENT which included a basketball game. Crowding into the “Cage” to see him play was really something.
    I was a student there then and actually played softball in the spring against Dr. J’s team. He was the mid-fielder and as I remember, they went undefeated that season. I don’t think we scored a run against them, but what a good guy.
    We’d all go to Checkers (remember Gerry) after the game and he was just one of the guys.
    Thanks for the fun memory.

Leave a Reply

