Some EnChantixed Evening

You may meet a stranger.  But you may be hallucinating on Chantix.

2888412TB002_Pfizer_LossPoor Pfizer doesn’t seem to know what to do with its smoking-cessation drug.  It came out with a bang a few years ago, and was heavily promoted until it was uncovered that it may help people with suicidal tendencies quit smoking the hard way, if you catch my drift. 

It was not good publicity, so Pfizer embarked on a different kind of ad campaign, something called a “help seeking ad,” that never included the name “Chantix,” but encouraged viewers to go to MyTimeToQuit.com, which ultimately led to the Chantix web site. 

Now, Chantix ads are back, in the form of testimonials from people who used the drug successfully.  These ads prominently display the warnings and the side effects, and there are many listed.  I am among those who have used this drug to its best advantage.  As I’ve said before, my side effect (as I was warned) was vivid dreams.  Not good dreams, not bad dreams.  Vivid dreams. 

I’m glad to see Pfizer is finally advertising this drug for what it is:  a good aid to help some people stop smoking.  Not all people, just some who can handle it.  This is in no way an endorsement, but I’m glad I was one of those people.  I had tried the gum, the patch, and Zyban.  I thought I was hooked forever. 

If you surf the blogosphere, you will find some people who think the devil himself created this drug.  Here’s my modest advice:  READ THE LABEL!!!  TALK TO YOUR DOCTOR!!!  USE COMMON SENSE!!! 

Subtle.  But hey, that’s me.  Subtle.

There are other smoking-cessation drugs, prescription and over-the-counter, that may help others.  The bottom line for any of them is:  ya gotta wanna.

So, do ya wanna?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me, Media, Noticed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some EnChantixed Evening

  1. Peter N says:

    Great one, Gerry…post, I mean. VIVID…were they in 3D??

  2. So if I take this stuff before bedtime, and try to dream about, say, Elle McPherson…

    Just exactly HOW vivid does it get?? Just curious.

  3. stratos bonos says:

    i quit nce on chantex, worked great but i never finished it. Went a month before I had a cigarette. Thought I could be one of those who could occasionaly smoke… not true. Tried again a few months later and the side eefects were terrible. My mood was awful and yes the dreams were vivd. Finally five months ago i TOOK IT FOR 2 weeks and success…it’s been five months smoke free.

    • Gerry says:

      Stratos, one thing I’ve learned over the years: I’m not one of those people who can “occasionally” smoke. I know people who say they only have 2 or 3 a day. Don’t know how they do it.

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    So, if I don’t smoke but I take this stuff, do I still get the vivid dreams?

Leave a Reply

