Washashore

Or “Wash Ashore.”  I’m not sure if it’s one word or two, but it’s a new (to me) expression I learned here on Cape Cod.

My brother and I played at Olde Barnstable Fairgrounds Golf Course today…a superior municipal course run by the town of Barnstable.  We were paired up with a guy named Mac, a retired local firefighter.  Good guy.  After the round, we sat down for a cold adult beverage or two, and in the course of conversation, I asked if he was a native Cape Codder.

“Nah.  Been here 51 years, but I’m a washashore.  And my wife never lets me forget it.”

“Washashore.  Meaning…”

“Wasn’t born here.  Wife was.”

“Got it.”

I love that expression.  Reminds me of the attitude of the natives of more than one Connecticut town.  

You gotta love New England.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Washashore

  1. Graham says:

    Most people on Cape Cod are washashores. Even those who were born on Nantucket and the Vineyard are considered washashores on the “mainland”.
    Where do we come up with these crazy things?

    But, I guess it’s better to be a washashore than all washed up……..

    Have fun on the Cape!

  2. Just sent this post of yours to Bob Whitcomb, editorial page editor of the Providence Jounal. He has a blog: ” This New England. ” Your post fits right into what he writes about on his blog.

  3. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Washashore. Washashore.

    Isn’t that the sauce you put in stews and on steaks?

Leave a Reply

