A Good Man

Dick Jackson died Monday.  ALS, Lou Gehrig’s disease.  He was 75.

Dick was a social activist, a convenient term used to sum up a person who did so much for so many.

I remember when Dick, in the 70’s, would thunder into the WPOP newsroom.  I’d look up and say something sweet like, “Get away from me. What do you want now?”  It was said with a small amount of truth, and a large amount of admiration for a dynamic individual who worked hard at making life better for others.

The difference between being 27 and 57 is now I would look up and say something sweet like, “Get away from me.  And what can I do for you.”

Dick Jackson was, as Tom Wolfe might say, a man in full.  In the best sense.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Good Man

  1. william m. brown says:

    Ger’ like you’ve reflected about dick jackson social activist with a zeal. I can still hear, “you know the panthers. ect.,or hartford st. gangs, ect. But what a heart and concern about people. Take care and be well.

Leave a Reply

