Curiously Detached

I’m not sure why I don’t care more that the Yankees just swept the Red Sox.

I’m not sure why I’m not more outraged that David Ortiz’s performance over the years may or may not have been enhanced by drugs.

red_sox_yankees_logo_featureMaybe it’s because, as a Red Sox fan, I’ve got mine (2004, 2007).  Maybe it’s because I’m disappointed (as opposed to outraged) that players whose talents I so admired may or may not have been chemically-enhanced.  Maybe I’m jealous most of them drive Escalades and I don’t.  (Nah.)  Maybe I can’t stand the thought of listening to the “Apocalypse Now” callers to WEEI (who make most of the callers to WFAN sound like Mensa candidates.) 

It’s not that I don’t care.  I do.  I will listen to the young Yankee yappers at work, and we will have our little back-and-forths.  I will continue to study the standings every morning (albeit with emphasis on the wild card race). 

I’m just not sure why I don’t care more.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Curiously Detached

  1. Classic case of fan slump. Often happens in August, when the days grow shorter and the nights get longer. You may not care, as Jason Bay may not hit, for a week or two. But you’ll be back. You will.

  2. just joan says:

    Keep the faith!

  3. Scott says:

    Watching last night’s game, I was thinking about how much more disappointed I would have been had they lost that game than I was at any of the losses at Yankee Stadium. Up 4-0, at home after a rough weekend. They HAD to win that game. It was interesting how quiet the crowd was in the ninth. Everyone was definitely nervous!

    Glad they finally got the win that they needed. I was hoping for a nice bench clearing brawl to wake the Sox up in NY this past weekend…worked in ’04.

    So soon we forget that it is already August and the Sox bats ALWAYS slump in August…

  4. Graham says:

    Gerry,
    It’s old age…………. (I should know being older than you). Everyday is such a struggle that caring about these pampered, egotisical babies is just not worth the effort anymore.
    I’m not down on life, just sick of the drugs and garbage coming out of MLB.

  5. Linda says:

    “Young Yankee yappers”? I’m neither young nor a yapper (I think, depending on your definition of yapper), but I gave up on sports in general when it became all about the money. I used to be a Yankee fan (sorry, Gerry) back in the day of Micky Mantle and Roger Maris. And then a Mets fan. Went to both ball parks with my dad. But it’s hard to watch any sport now with the salaries out there. I don’t care how good they are, they’re not worth the money. On a day like today, I think my garbage man deserves to be making their salaries more than they do.

  6. Most highly paid ballplayers earn it. They are, for the most part, very productive ( They have to be, or they get farmed out ). And, as entertainers in a sports/enterrainment complex, they fill the seats, making zillions for the organization.

    The target of such ire should be CEOs and executives who, despite being unproductive, get huge bonuses. Players get bonuses if they go the extra mile.

    I still love the game and try not to think of the business aspects of it. How can one not watch Dustin Pedroia, Ichiro, Jeter and just say ” Wow! ” Grace under pressure and all that.

    That said, my late father became disenchanted with MLB in the 80s. ” It’s all business now, ” he often said. It’s worse now. But I’m still a fan.

  7. Baseball, it’s unions, players and owners have made us Passionately dispassionate about the game.

Leave a Reply

