Small World

A friend is planning a trip to Paris with her husband in September. 

I am, of course, jealous.  Whenever I talk to someone who’s planning a great trip, I want to say, “Why don’t you stay home and I’ll go?  I promise to send you a postcard and bring you back something nice.”

I do love to travel, and I really like Paris.  (By the way, the French don’t hate us.  They like us, and they love our money.  I think they’d appreciate it if we simply tried to speak their language.  They’re not looking for fluency, just a modest effort, which is not much to ask.)

For god’s sake Gerry, get to the point, will you?

OK, OK.   She showed me the web site for a hotel outside Paris she’d like to stay at for a couple of days.  I looked at the picture, and couldn’t believe I heard myself saying, “We’ve been there.  1992.”

Domaine Des Hauts de Loire

Domaine Des Hauts de Loire

Really, what are the odds?  All I could think of was Humphrey Bogart’s great line in Casablanca:  “Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine.”

The truth is, I was as pleased as I was amazed.  It made me feel like a seasoned, accomplished traveler (even though it’s my wife who spends hours making the plans.)

I know my friend and her husband will have a great trip.  As for us, we have no great adventures planned right now.

But I can’t wait until we get there, wherever it is.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Small World

  1. Another line from Casablanca comes to mind:

    ” We’ll always have Paris.”

  2. Doug says:

    j’voudrais un omelette du frommage, si vu plait.

    all my french i get from Steve Martin’s old comedy albums.

  3. Linda says:

    I haven’t had the opportunity to travel, but my daughters have done a good amount of traveling and I’m enjoying hearing and seeing pictures of their trips. My youngest just got back from France and she too, said that the French were pretty nice to them (it helped that one of the travelers spoke some French). My older daughter just booked her honeymoon cruise to the Mediterranean. You, Gerry, have taken some wonderful trips and have had some great adventures. It’s always nice to read about them. Your wife does a good job planning them…….lucky, lucky you!

Leave a Reply

