Hot Bods On The Beach

I spend an inordinate amount of time watching women’s beach volleyball at work.

It’s not that I’m a pig (though all men, to some degree, are), but we have 13 giant plasma screens ringing our fabulous new newsroom, and one of them is always on Universal Sports

Why?  Because Universal Sports is part of the proud family of NBC Universal networks (MSNBC, CNBC, USA, Bravo, SyFy, CBS, ABC, just to name a few).

Whenever I lean back in my chair, the plasma screen nearest my line of sight is the one on Universal Sports.  So I see quite a bit (and I do mean quite a bit) of Misty May-Treanor, Kerri Walsh, and their fellow competitors, whose names I do not know and probably never will. 

Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Not that there's anything wrong with that.

As I write this, the monitor next to Universal Sports has CNN on.  (CNN is not among the proud family.)  Larry King is apparently interviewing Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos about their secrets to a successful marriage (the sound is off).

Suddenly, beach volleyball is infinitely more interesting.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Cable Hell, It's all about me, Noticed, People, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hot Bods On The Beach

  1. I watch that every now and then. When my wife isn’t looking. But it seems the team I root for is alway behind. At the bottom of the standings.

    Wink, wink. Nudge. Nudge.

  2. Linda says:

    Mark and Kelly have been making the publicity circuit lately – promoting a new show on TLC and promoting their marriage. It seems once a celebrity couple start proclaiming how wonderful their marriage is, the next sound bite is about their pending divorce. And beach volleyball….I hope men’s beach volleyball gets equal time for all your female staff.

  3. Scott says:

    I just watch it for the articles!

  4. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Jello volleyball anyone?

Leave a Reply

