You Can Pick Your Friends…

…but you can’t pick your family.

And as we turn the page on another year, I’m quite happy to report that I wouldn’t want to change either.

I’ve been spending a long weekend with family, and the best of friends and neighbors.  The older one gets, the more reflective one becomes at certain milestones.  More appreciative of those in our lives, by relation or by choice.  

I’m quite lucky to have the family I do, and the friends I have.  I plan to be around to torture them for a very long time.

And for my colleagues who may read this and see it as a signal that I may be mellowing, I have three words to share.

Not a chance.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You Can Pick Your Friends…

  1. hendu says:

    Happy Birthday! Hopefully this days finds your drives straight and your irons pure and your putts in the bottom of the cup. Of course if you are not golfing today: WHY THE HELL NOT?!?!?!

  2. In the key of “G”

    Happy Birthday to you…

    Happy Birthday to you…

    Happy Birthday Gerry…

    Happy Birthday to you!

  3. Others born on this date include the Queen Mother and Barack Obama. Billy Bob Thornton, too. Have a great day!

  4. Phyllis Miller says:

    Hi Gerry, My son Mark used to work at channel 30 and he told me we have the same birthday .I want to wish you a Happy Birthday and many more.I enjoy watching you every night.Have a good birthday.,Phyllis Miller

  5. JC says:

    Hi!
    Just couldn’t let the day go by without wishing you a Happy Birthday! Enjoy your time away with Family and Friends.
    Warmest Regards,
    JC

  6. Bill says:

    Gerry – Happy Birthday to another Leo! I always say the best people in the world are Leos. Ask any Leo and he’ll tell you. 🙂

  7. Linda says:

    Hi Gerry

    First off, happy belated birthday! I had no idea! I will put you on my calendar though . . .

    Secondly, I too, must be mellowing in age. Your blog hit home as I have been feeling much the same way lately – so thankful for the family and friends I have; even for the friends I’ve had and lost touch with. So many people have touched my life and helped make me the person I am today.

    Know what? I like who I am! So I’m thankful – to so many!

    Have a great day, friend.

    Linda 🙂

  8. Peter N says:

    We don’t have the same birthday but we were born in the same year. I have a little more hair but you are vastly more talented to the many people who count on you to give us all the happenings worldwide. What would we do without you? I’VE GOT IT! Don’t stop doing what you do!!
    Thanks Gerry. I wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

