Something New. Again.

For someone who is relatively resistant to change, I’ve sure been through a lot of it lately. 

As I hope you’ve seen on the air, we are still settling into our beautiful new high def home.  We’re still working out some kinks, but things are going quite well as we adapt to a different environment.

And now, we have the second coming of NBC Connecticut.com.  Another new system to learn.  Yippee.

If you access the blog through NBC Connecticut.com, congrats on finding me.  I really appreciate it.

As a rule, you won’t find me on the front page anymore.  You’ll have to click on “news,” then click on “local beat.”  I’ll usually be there.  I think.  Occasionally I’ll turn up in other sections, such as sports.  You can also type “Brooks File” in the search box to find me.  And I certainly won’t stop you if you want to bookmark the blog.

Change.  Embrace it.  No really, I mean it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, It's all about me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Something New. Again.

  1. Michael says:

    Gerry – I’ve very proud of you adaptng to all this change. It provides energy in our lives.

  2. Linda says:

    arghhhhhhh!!!!!!! This is as bad as the grocery stores changing their aisles! My first response to the new website was oh no! But, I wasn’t crazy about the last incarnation and after a quick perusal of this site, I’m thinking this one might be better. I’ve been hit with a lot of changes lately too – at my workplace and home (wedding in a little over 2 months to go), so I’ve become more relaxed about changes. I’m trying to put a positive spin on things! But it would be nice to have the Brooks File front and center, Gerry. It’s the first thing I look at when I log on, then I check the headlines. The new studio is looking good. The only thing I personally don’t like is all the movement behind the anchors. I know all the networks changed their news sets so the public sees “behind the scenes”, but I personally find it distracting to see people walking behind the anchors and moving “wallpaper”. But all in all, NBC30 is looking good! I think the new building has infused a new excitement into your organization.

  3. Shameless self promotion follows…

    Another way to find your blog, Gerry, is to go to my website, The Web Town Observer ( terrencemccarthy.blogspot.com ) and click on Gerry’s blog on the blogroll in the right hand margin.

    Good luck

  4. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry:

    I completely agree with Linda!!!!! I had difficulty finding you this morning. But I would not give up until I did. You should most definitely be front and center. To me your blog is a Headline and I look forward to it every morning. (I also do not like change.) Overall, it is still a tremendous site. 🙂

  5. Linda says:

    Good morning Gerry!

    I DID find you, but not without some effort and a lot of worry. As I told you recently, I start my day with you. You make me smile, you make me think twice, you make me send my husband your blogs because they are SOO GOOD.

    Then I logged on and “no Gerry!” I was actually a bit nervous. COULD I make it thru the day without my daily hit of Gerry?

    Before I had to find out, luck came my way and I found you. Thank heavens. See that? Prayers are answered every day . . .

    Have a great day!

    L

  6. Gerry says:

    Lindas and Kathryn, as always, thank you for your comments. And thank you for hunting me out.

    If you haven’t seen Terry’s blog, it’s a must-read for me, and he posts frequently. The Web Town Observer is on my blogroll, as well.

    And Michael is a first-time commenter who brings his own brand of wisdom to the discussion. I agree that change does bring energy into our lives. But I need a reason for that change to fully adapt. No doubt there is a good one.

  7. Patty says:

    I am so happy I found your blog. The new site is, well, interesting. I am not sure I like it very much, but I suppose it will grow on me. I feel like I went on a treasure hunt to find the blog, not to mention the weather…but I’m glad I got here.

    Wishing you the best!

  8. gerry says:

    Yay! Found the blog! And bookmarked it…so I can skip right to you I if don’t want to read tacky headlines that “CT is thrilled about skimpy PETA ads.” I thought you were a news station with a web page – I guess you are a TABLOID with a web page.

    Brooks File – **** 4 stars!
    NBC30 newscast – **** 4 stars
    Web page idea of “thrilling” headlines – not so much….. 😦

  9. Wendy says:

    Arrghhhhhhhhhh is right! I found you, but I’m exhausted after the search! WHY the change? Why fix what isn’t broken???? I suppose I’ll adapt, but geeze…couldn’t there be instructions to let us know how to get where???? At least I don’t have to go a day without reading your blog. Good for you to be so flexible, Gerry!!

    Have a good one!

  10. joan says:

    you know, you all can bookmark or “add to favorites” the link to the blog–it saves a lot of hassle! we all have our ways of getting our daily Gerry fix.

  11. Graham says:

    I don’t understand why there has not been a mention about the “new” new website. Just a little notice that change is coming can eliminate a great deal of tension and upset. In this world of turmoil, we often forget about our friends and clients and their feelings.
    I’m sure there will be another NEW website in the next few months and I hope the designers will post some notices over the preceding days to calm your readers.
    Such a simple thing could set NBC Connecticut apart from the rest of the world in a very positive way.

  12. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry:

    I forgot to mention, your new photo is great!

    Joan:

    Thank you. I have added this to the top of my list of “Favorites”.

    Terrence:

    I have added yours as well. Thank you very much.

    Have a great day, all! 🙂

  13. Gerry says:

    Thank you all for your comments. If the managing editor of the web site hasn’t read them already, trust me, he will.

    Graham, I believe this is what retailers might call a “soft opening.”

  14. Lori says:

    Oh STOP with all the changes, I have to find you. I can’t stand the changes, it is like a 70’s page now. I had to use the search button to find you, I looked in Around Town and you were not there, whoever the person is that is changing this, please, please, tell them to leave you alone. Some changes are good, some not so good. I will bookmark you though.

  15. Thank you, Gerry. And Kathryn, I would love you to read The Web Town Observer often. And comment at will. Thanks.

  16. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry:

    At 12:06 pm, I received an announcement that arrived in my office Inbox announcing that the new NBCConnecticut.com site is live. In the announcement it, requested feedback. I made sure that I did answer and it was all positive. I also suggested that Keisha start a blog. I think it would be such fun.

    Terrence:

    I look forward to commenting on “The Web Town Observer”. Thank you for making me feel welcome.

  17. Wow, what a site..after about five minutes I just did a search! And,, bang…there you were!

    I think I will still come directly to your site!!

  18. Peter N says:

    What blog?

    Gerry, it’s bookmarked. The best to you. The HD newcasts look tremendous, much better than the Sox do right now. Doc time?? I really do not know. Maybe a player familiar with a bat.

  19. Steve Feica says:

    Gerry,

    Just a quick note to say that since my official retirement from AP I have had a chance to spend time reading blogs (by real professionals) and have been delighted by your observations, opinions and offerings. I have no problem finding you through The Laurel and you can add me now as another BIG fan of The Brooks File.
    Steve

  20. Gerry says:

    Steve, thank you. It’s an honor.

    I tried to email you as you were leaving the AP, but the note kept getting bounced back to me.

    Enjoy your life as a man of leisure!

Leave a Reply

