What Daddy Did

If somehow, someday Ashonti Johnson and Keilyn Figueroa ever meet, they could have this conversation:

“When I was 2, the police said my Daddy got drunk and got mad at my Mom, so he threw me and my baby brother in a dumpster.”

“Oh, that’s nothing.  See these scars?  When I was 8 months old, my Daddy confessed that he thought my Mom was cheating on him, so he stabbed me and strangled me with a Nintendo cord.”

After all this time, it takes a lot for a news story to turn my stomach.  Both of these stories, in the news now, qualify. 

The men charged in these cases aren’t kids.  Ashonti’s father, Tommie Johnson, Jr. of Dayton, Ohio is 39.  Keilyn’s father, Orlando Figueroa of Waterbury, is 35.  Booze and jealousy fueled these similar crimes that made grown men believe innocent children are disposable because they helped create them. 

I made you.  I can throw you away.

Some people just shouldn’t procreate.  You need a license to drive a car, and a permit to own a gun.  Too bad parenthood can’t be similarly regulated.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Daddy Did

  1. Terri says:

    Amen! It’s rare that I watch the news and end in tears..besides watching Sept 11, 2001 unfolded, these stories made me cry. I just can’t fathom how these ‘men’ could do these. No one, man or women, could ever get me to the point of killing my child. My daughter is my heart and part of my soul. Without her I am an empty shell just going through life, with her, I have a life.
    Thanks for saying in writing what alot of us think!

  2. Joene says:

    Too bad parenthood is not properly taught.

  3. jan says:

    i agree! i’ve always said there should be some kind of test for parenthood as some people just don’t get it. but i also think there should be some kind of test for people who purchase exotic animals like boas and monkeys and apes but any kind of pet even a dog. they can’t figure out that animals do what comes naturally but aren’t some humans animals?

  4. Graham says:

    It’s no wonder that the re-runs of Mash do so well opposite the evening news!

    Sorry Gerry, but I do find myself drifting away some days to watch something “light”. Can you imagine thinking a show about a war is “light”? How sad is that?

    Let’s hope there are some better stories tonight.
    See you at 5:30.

  5. Gerry says:

    Terri, Joene and Jan, thank you for your thoughts.

    And Graham, I hate to say it, but I completely understand.

  6. Anne says:

    What a sad commentary on our culture when fully-grown adults think of their own progeny as disposable, and treat them with less consideration than their beer returnables. We live in such a instant-gratification/garbage society. Don’t want to be committed to your spouse anymore? Get a divorce. Tired of parenthood and finding your kids annoying? Throw them in a dumpster or beat ’em. This is a story that so horrified me that I had to turn it off. Parenthood is a long-term labor of love with many challenges. As a high school teacher, I see so many unprepared teen parents keep their babies because they think the baby will solve their other problems like a bad home environment, or a boyfriend with a wandering eye. Then suddenly they are not just cute kewpie pies but always there, and getting in the way of having fun. They really should give them up for adoption. There is some couple somewhere so hungry and ready to love that baby. Instead the boyfriend gets to pick at it to pieces.
    My kids are great and almost all grown and on their way out the door, and I would not swap one crying, worrying minute. It is the sum of all of the parts to get them to where they are today.

  7. daredevyl283 says:

    Fathers are getting a bad rap nowadays. This country has just as many dead beat moms as dead beat dads, yet the media reports the dead-beat dads.

Leave a Reply

