I Am Pathetic

The message I got Wednesday:  “Cancel your Sunday golf.  Monster seats.”  Click.

Say no more.  And there we were on Sunday.  High atop the Monster at Fenway Park.

Fenway 7.26.09 019 

So why is someone who has made his living on television for more than 30 years as happy as a twelve-year-old to see himself on TV at Fenway Park?  Seriously.  Why?  (I’m the turquoise blur.  And yes, I wore that polo shirt so the color would stand out.)

Fenway 7.26.09 037

Really, I’m pathetic.  (But I’m good with it.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Am Pathetic

  1. Geoff Fox says:

    Because a ballpark truly is a shrine. It’s part of a religion you caught as a boy. You found it with no pretense–with the kind of unconditional love a dog gives. I totally understand.

  2. I think Geoff nailed it. Next step: Pinch hitting for Remy with Don O. in the booth.

  3. Bob P. says:

    It is the ugliest structures in America. Cramped seats, very much a minor league stadium that is heralded like a shrine. Please. The place is a dirty dump.

  4. Gerry says:

    Geoff, my tail was wagging the whole day.

    Terry, that would be a dream come true.

    Bob, Fenway was actually on its way to becoming a dump until the current ownership took over. I think they’ve done a great job, though 7.25 is a bit much for a beer.

  5. joan says:

    You are not at all pathetic–what a wonderful day! I’m with Geoff on this one…and would guess that “Bob P” is a Yankee fan. Because really, who else would call our “lyric little bandbox” a dirty dump.

  6. pete says:

    ger, you havent lived until you’ve been on the jumbo screen at stafford motor speedway… and the beer is only $6.75.

    😉

  7. 1. Gerry- Not at all pathetic. There’s a big difference sitting in front of the camera every night delivering news. But there’s a big thrill when you’re at the game at OUR home park and get picked up, by chance by either the network or park cams. At that point, you’re not a professional broadcaster, you’re a fan, just like the other 33,000!

    2. It was no different at the NATPE conventions I used to go to. All these “professional” network, cable, and local television workers were like giggling little kids when celebrities of the shows would make an appearance. They would stare and stutter and I know of one case of someone wetting themselves when they met Ray Romano!
    They stopped being professionals and simply became “human” again.

  8. Gerry says:

    He does sound like a Yankee guy, doesn’t he Joan?

    Pete…beers are 6.75 at the track?!?

    Buddy, I hope the person who wet themselves upon meeting Ray Romano did the honorable thing and jumped off the nearest tall building.

    In the end, I knew that somewhere in the game the camera would pick us up, so, as always, I did this for my own amusement. And I am easily amused.

  9. Lori says:

    Gerry, I am just so jealous of your life 🙂 You do know how to live, the ones that don’t like Fenway, have never really smelled the air up there. Nothing like the smell of the sausage man, the beer……..oh the smells of summer.

  10. Jane K says:

    Hmmmm … who recorded that fabulous picture of you in the Monster Seats yesterday???

  11. Gerry says:

    The Queen of the DVR.

Leave a Reply

