People On The Perimeter

Close friends and family make a difference in our lives, but it’s the people on the perimeter of our lives…the people who come and go…who add the seasoning.

I was reminded of that this week when I saw an obituary in the paper for Peter A. Southwick of Somers.  He was 80.  Pete was a broker who delivered the financial news and stocks on WPOP radio when I was there in the ’70’s.  (“OK Pete, tape’s rolling, give me a countdown and go…”)

Our relationship consisted of a daily chat on the phone that expanded as we got to know each other better, but we never knew each other well.  On occasion, he would visit the radio station, and I would enjoy seeing the look of amusement on his face.  I could never figure out if he enjoyed being in such a different atmosphere, or was quietly thanking god he was just passing through.

I never saw Pete again after I left WPOP in 1979.  But I never forgot him, either.

Just as I will never forget Jorge Arango, who is still very much with us.  But he’s no longer with us

Jorge came in every night to clean the old NBC30 building (as much as it could possibly be cleaned).  He didn’t work for the station, but for a cleaning company the station contracted with.  With the new building, in came a new cleaning company.  And out went Jorge.

Jorge became “one of us” on the night shift.  We would talk Red Sox and Celtics and exchange small Christmas gifts.  He is as kind, gentle and proud a soul as I’ve ever met.

We didn’t have a chance to say a proper goodbye to Jorge, so Keisha Grant and I found his number this week and called to wish him well.  He made our lives a little better. 

That’s what people on the perimeter can do.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to People On The Perimeter

  1. So true. The people with whom I’m connecting here in the campground are ” on the perimeter.” The guy with the pit bull who lives in the leaky trailer. The black folks traveling together in a convoy. Down in NC our favorite new friend is Omar, A Mexican guy who does landscaping work.

    Lou Dobbs might find fault with all this. F–k him and his ilk.

  2. Kevin says:

    Terrence, Lou Dobbs is on the money most of the time, he hasnt exactly gone crazy like O’Reilly, Olberman or the crying man Glenn Beck. He’s actually married to a Mexican woman, he , like most Americans would just like people to enter this country legally. So disparage him and his ilk all you want but you are targeting the wrong guy.

    Gerry, you are right on the money, it’s kinda like your lifes supporting cast, if life were a movie of course. It is funny how many people come and go over time, but more importantly how many of them make an impact of some sort in our lives. Sometimes while driving by myself these folks pop into my head, a teacher from years ago, a police officer, sandwich shop guy on main street, etc. I always wonder about them, but it never goes any further then that.
    Kudos to you and Keisha for calling him, very cool move, something I think we should all do when things come to an end. I’m sure he appreciated it.

  3. People in the perimeter are always a BIG part of the success, and quality of life (or not), a thought to remember..some way or another, we to, are the people on the perimeter…

  4. Kevin

    With all due respect, I think Lou Dobbs has indeed gone crazy re the immigration issue. His focus on this borders on obsession. It’s a free country and he can say what he wants all he wants. I stand by my comment about Mr. Dobbs.

  5. Lauren says:

    Beautiful blog Gerry, just beautiful. Jorge was indeed a kind and gentle soul. It’s true, people come and go. You just wish that you could keep in touch with everyone you meet. Life gets in the way of that. Facebook reminds me of that everyday. There is something to be said about these networking sites, sometimes they bring people back into your lives that you thought you might never see again.

Leave a Reply

