It’s I Before E, Except After C

What the hell is so difficult about that?

16-year-old Leonard Slutsky of Glastonbury wrote an op-ed piece in the Courant today, headlined “Without Spell Check, We Are Dumed.”  (Actually it’s on the editorial page, but since the Courant doesn’t have an op-ed page anymore…) 

The headline probably left a few people wondering who Dumed is.  I would have preferred, simply, “Dumb.”

Leonard, who otherwise seems like a bright enough young fellow, laments his inability to spell certain words, and even admits, “My mistakes upset me.”  He asks, “Does this mean my generation will be horrific spellers?”

Yes, Leonard.  Yes it does.  But here’s a bulletin:  the generation that came before you beat you to it.  And you’re upset?  Then buy a dictionary and use it!

Sorry about yelling, and it’s not just at Leonard, who put himself out there.  I rarely point out spelling mistakes anymore (who has the time?), unless I think they’ll end up on your television screen (in high def, no less.) 

The sad truth is, if you don’t get them early, they’re gone.  Forever.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s I Before E, Except After C

  1. Couldn’t agree more, Gerry.

  2. hendu says:

    guilty. My head hangs in shame.

  3. Tom says:

    Do you think that maybe Leonard meant to say “doomed” and not “dumed” ?

  4. Gerry says:

    Hendu, you can make it up with Avery.

    Tom, that was the work of the headline writer having some “fun.”

  5. Debra Alfarone says:

    The other day I got an email from a former student of mine asking me to help her find a job. Three spelling errors. What would you do, Gerry?

  6. Gerry says:

    I would have a heart-to-heart with that person, and explain that he/she is sorely lacking an essential skill.

  7. hendu says:

    Can do Ger, luckily her mom is a better speller.

  8. Lou says:

    Let us hope that future generations will take more time to LEARN how to spell words instead of relying entirely on a spell checker.

  9. daredevyl283 says:

    Doubt it. They’ll me more apt to text and/or IM using the T9 feature. But let’s face it, English is the most difficult language in the world to EVER learn. I before E except after C does NOT apply to words like “leisure” and “seize.”

Leave a Reply

