Epilogue

We’re in the new building, and as the kids say, it’s all good.  Actually, it’s better than good.  It’s fabulous.

Which is better than freaky, which is what the last night in the old building turned out to be.  Wednesday night, about 10:45, the studio lights went out.  Kaput.

nbc 30 last night 019

Jack and Ed. Ghostbusters?

Miracle workers Jack Kane and Ed Rankin rushed over from the new building, and somehow got the lights back on at very low power.

Then, there was some kind of surge, and the lights got so bright, we needed sunglasses to see without squinting.  Jack and Ed, who can explain anything (or make something up and sound plausible), swore they had no clue as to what was going on.

And that’s what really concerned me.  When the lights got bright enough to break out the sunscreen, I was thinking to myself, “If there’s some kind of higher power at work here, stop it right now.  Or at least don’t make the lights explode,” which I actually thought was going to happen.

Eventually, the lighting leveled out, and we finished the program with a brief goodbye to the building.

But I have a feeling the building itself was saying goodbye.  

“I’m tired.  I’m done.  Now get out.”

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Epilogue

  1. hendu says:

    It was nice to be the last one out of the old building and the first one to put something on in the new one, When I think of the people that passed through the ol’ homestead, it leaves e a little humbled. Which is hard for me.

  2. Gerry says:

    Remember this week. It will never happen again.

  3. Angelina says:

    You probably had two things happening.

    Psycho Kinetic energy of our minds can create that. Your heavy feelings about leaving can create surges to make light go off and on.

    You also probably have some spirits there reacting and reaching out to the change.

    🙂

    Angelina

  4. Gerry says:

    Hey, who am I to say otherwise?

  5. Angelina says:

    Why you are Jerry Brooks! (warm smile)

  6. Michele says:

    I can’t believe you guys are finally in! I have to come visit and check it out. 🙂

  7. Lou says:

    Folks from WNPR got a tour of the building earlier this week, I believe, and posted their pictures on Facebook. The new place looks fantastic, Gerry!

  8. John says:

    Love ya in high def Gerry keep up that great work
    Why I am posting comment at 1am I will never know!
    See you Gerry! 🙂

  9. John says:

    I also forgot to say good-night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

