Management Is Subjective

We continue our little stroll down memory lane, as NBC 30 prepares to morph into NBC Connecticut HD in a new building.  (It’s happening.  Soon.  Really.)

From 1977 to early ’79, I was trying to build a career in sports reporting/anchoring in radio and television.  My home base and full-time job was at all-news radio WPOP ($200/week).    I also did a Monday night sports program at the public television station in Fairfield (gratis, in exchange for the “experience”), color commentary on UConn basketball games on the Conn. Radio Network ($50/game. Big money!), and weekend sports at Channel 30 ($18.50/night, bumped up to $22).

My official WHNB portrait (1977).  Hold the Mr. Kotter/Ron Jeremy jokes.  Heard 'em.

My official WHNB portrait (1977). Hold the Mr. Kotter/Ron Jeremy jokes. Heard 'em.

So for the better part of two years, I worked seven days a week, hoping that Channel 30 would make me its first full-time sports anchor.

That did not happen.  The station hired an anchor who once talked to Johnny Bench.  This was apparently a big deal, because they took out an ad in TV Guide to announce his arrival, and the headline said, “He Talked To Johnny Bench!”  I had never talked to Johnny Bench.  So I remained weekend anchor.

He came with an alphabetized list of adjectives to insert into scores.  (“Boston annihiliated New York,” “New York bombed Boston,”…)  There was no “c” on his list, and he didn’t appreciate it in the least when I wrote in “castrated.”

Soon after the man who talked to Johnny Bench’s arrival, I decided to go where I had never gone before.  To the office of the General Manager.  I simply wanted to know what he thought of my performance, and whether he thought I had a future in television.

If I recall correctly, this man was 39, looked 59, and I’m sure he smiled, though I never actually caught him in the act. 

I was informed that I was competent enough, but he didn’t see me advancing past my current station at the station.  My future would not be in television, I was told.  I thanked him for his time, and said a silent prayer that he be struck by a bus.  I decided I would keep the weekend job at Channel 30 until I could find something to prove him wrong. 

Then one night, I snapped.  It was a Saturday night…(to be continued).

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Management Is Subjective

  1. Stormy says:

    Ooooo, suspense!!!

  2. Cool sports jacket..what color was it!?

  3. Kathryn D. says:

    This is a great story and it is getting better!!:)

  4. Is this all part of a memoir you’re writing? I hope so. Your writing style is reader friendly. Everyone in CT knows your voice, from radio and TV. But a writer’s ” voice ” is different, and more complicated. Yours is likable, humorous, irreverent. All good.

  5. Gerry says:

    Kathryn, thank you.

    Marsh, it was light beige with a subtle green accent (he said with a straight face).

    And Terry, your kind words made my day. But it’s not a memoir. I’m not that interesting. I just started writing this little series on a whim, leading up to the debut of our new building.

  6. Mike says:

    Gee… sounds like what I went through, only in another venue. But we both made it, albeit I, not in such a high profile situation. But I’ve watched and liked what I’ve seen. I don’t quite make the Bomb’s “rich list”, but it’s been fun.

    PS: I shot 82 today.

    Mile

  7. Mrs.G says:

    Can’t wait to read more this is very interesting!

  8. Don Ennis says:

    You? Snapped! Impossible!!!

  9. Gerry says:

    I know. So hard to believe.

Leave a Reply

