First Lesson Learned

As we count down to WKNB, WNBC, WHNB, WVIT, NBC 30’s big move to the new building and a new life as NBC Connecticut HD, it’s a good time to reflect on what was. 

I first came aboard in 1977, when the station was WHNB, Channel 30.  I was the sports director at WPOP radio.  A very good man named Bob Douglas, who to this day roams the halls of the state capitol building, was the news director at Channel 30, which had no sports reporter on staff at the time.

Bob was a WPOP listener, and hired me to anchor the weekend sports reports for the princely sum of $18.50 a day.  Pure gold. 

Sports stallion, circa 1978

Sports stallion, circa 1978

I asked Bob if he would like me to cut my hair and shave off my mustache (which, much to the consternation of subsequent bosses, I never offered to do again).

Bob said no, the hair and mustache stay.  I recall him saying something like, “It makes you look like a sports guy.  A manly man.”  (Think the theme of “Two And A Half Men.”)

And that’s when I learned my first important lesson about the television business.

And that is, management is… (to be continued).

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Lesson Learned

  1. Kathryn D. says:

    Please continue. This is very interesting! 🙂

  2. Cathy says:

    Guess you make a tad bit more than $18.50. Back then, it probably was a good haul.Good luck in the new place.Can’t wait to see the news in HD. The makeup chair is going to get a work out! LOL…

  3. Like the story so far, can’t wait to see it continue. I am excited about the move to the new studio. The pictures I have seen of it are exciting. It’s about time that Connecticut gets its news in HD!

Leave a Reply

