My First and Last

Dodge Coronet 001I recognized it from a mile away, sitting in the parking lot of a body shop I drive by. 

A 1968 Dodge Coronet 440.  The first car I drove, and the last I ever loved.

Dodge Coronet 002It was my mother’s car.  Hers was a maroon hardtop, black vinyl roof, black vinyl interior, the engine a 318 V-8.  I enhanced the entertainment provided by the thumbwheel-operated AM radio by installing an Audiovox 8-track tape player. 

Dodge Coronet 004When I first came across this rusted survivor, it wasn’t hard to envision my one and only automotive love…from the wheelcovers, which I kept spotless and shining, to the vinyl roof, which I kept highly polished.  I loved its low-profile graceful lines, the way the tail lights had a subtle flare.

It’s tempting to ask how much it would cost to buy it and have it restored, but I’ll just stick with the fond memories.

Dodge Coronet 003

Besides, I eventually learned that cars would eventually break your heart  because they break. 

I’ve fallen in like, but I never loved again.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My First and Last

  1. My sister in law had a Honda that should have been put out to pasture long ago. But she can’t bear to rid herself of the things she loves. The car reminded me of one my dad had, a Mustang. Somebody should have shot it, put it out of its misery. They shoot Mustangs, don’t they?

    One morning we pulled up to my sister in law’s place. The Honda was in the yard. A cop was standing next to it, surveying the damage. Someone had shot it. Some kid with a pellet gun was his guess.

    Under my breath I said, ” It had it coming. ”

    True story.

  2. I still fall for cars, alway have, always will! My first…a 1956 Ford, three-on-the-tree!

    My favorite love…a 1970 Dodge Dart Sports Coverable (it had a hand crank moon roof, racing stripes,6 cylinder, and metal flake green paint with racing stripes) Sporty two door.

    My favorite classic I owned…1964 Lincoln 4 -door. Suicide doors, a boat, a behemoth! 440 cu engine with Holly 4-barrel carbs!

    My next purchase will be a 2005 Thunderdird…

  3. Tom says:

    I had a 68 coronet 500 red w white vinyl roof, mags and a good old 318 v8, they dont make em like that anymore. Now have a 66 Buick Riviera sitting in the driveway competing with a 74 TR6 for my time and $$. The TR6 is winning but it isnt over yet! Too bad we didnt buy 68 Chargers Gerry we’d be rollin in green!

  4. Gerry says:

    Tom, a high school buddy had that ’68 Charger. It was sweet.

  5. Dan McCarthy says:

    My dad’s coworker has been letting a 1970 Plymouth Superbird (yes, a real Superbird, with the hidden headlamps and gimongous spoiler) rot away in his backyard for the past 25 years. He knows that the car would be worth upwards of $90,000 if it were restored, which is why he won’t sell it to anyone and prefers to just let it slowly die. I want to punch him so hard…

Leave a Reply

