Michaelfest

More than a week after his death, Michaelfest will reach its crescendo with the memorial service at the Staples Center that will have everyone but the Staples Singers on the stage.

As someone who covered Princess Diana’s funeral, I get it.  I think.  (I suppose Michael Jackson was entertainment royalty, although you never have and never will hear me refer to him as “The K**g of P*p.”  I can’t even write it.)

But here’s the one thing I have a hard time getting past (for anyone)the $25,000 gold-plated coffin.   It’s the “Promethean” model from the Batesville Casket Company.

promethian%20blue

I dunno.  Maybe it’s because I come from a plain pine box clan. 

I could be wrong, but it just seems like such a waste.

——–

Update:  I turned on the TV when I woke up this morning, only to hear Meredith Vieira say, “Up next, we’ll visit with Michael’s longtime friend Bubbles the Chimp.”  I shut the TV off.

If Bubbles did contribute something valuable to the conversation, I apologize.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Michaelfest

  1. A Fed Up Viewer says:

    I was called a supremest by an old friend on Facebook yesterday because I made a comment about how clean my house would be Tuesday nite after the all day coverage MJ will be getting. She actually removed me as a friend.
    Here’s the thing that bugs me. There is geonocide in Darfur. There is North Korea toying with nuclear weapons. There is a missing soldier in Afghanistan. This is the news. Not MJ. There is good news too. There is Habitat for Humanity. There is the Peace Corps. There is a friend of mine that start a non-profit organization 6 yrs ago now, called Simply Smiles (simplysmiles.org), that does the most awesome work in Mexico, and now in the U.S. This is news.
    Forgive me for my rant. I truly believe that NO CELEBRITY deserves this coverage. Almost 2 weeks of MJ the lead in story. When did celebrity’s become news?
    I knew nothing about this $25,000.00 casket – I, too, come from a pine box clan.

  2. Batesville? As in: Norman? Fitting or what?

  3. Mark says:

    I agree with the fed up viewer in some aspects. But, this blog that is written is by one of the best news anchors around.
    And If you have read previous posts he doesn’t seem to be into the celebrity worship game either.

    Keep up the great work Mr. Brooks

  4. I’m an ash man myself…I take up so much space in life, thoiught I would take up less in afterlife…
    AS to the coverage, etc….pretty horrible, even worse than the prolonged coverage of Anna Nicole Smith.
    A travesty in media history.

  5. A Fed Up Viewer says:

    Oh, please – I love Gerry – I was not putting him down one bit….I did not mean to insinuate otherwise. It is refreshing to see he is not into celebrity worship. I have always admired Gerry, and I always watch his newscast. I just happened upon this blog this morning and felt I had to vent.
    Sorry Gerry, I meant no disrespect – you are awesome!

  6. Gerry says:

    Hi Fed Up and welcome!

    No problem at all! I’m glad you joined the discussion. Check in anytime.

Leave a Reply

