Sing Along!

So many big names passing along to celebrity heaven lately…so how about one who’s still alive?

I always check out the birthdays in the paper, and today I was pleasantly surprised to find that Mitch Miller is still alive.  Mr. Miller was born on the fourth of July, 98 years ago.

For those of you who aren’t of age, Mitch Miller was a conductor and record executive who hosted “Sing Along With Mitch” in the early ’60s.  And that’s what America did every week.  Sing along with Mitch. 

And thanks to YouTube, so can you.  Enjoy!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sing Along!

  1. I used to love to sing The Yellow Rose of Texas, and Let Me Call You Sweetheart, to the bouncing ball as a kid!

  2. richb says:

    Boy does this bring me back! My dad used to tape this program every week using our state of the art Revere reel to reel tape recorder, the size of a small suitcase. I think I still have some of the tapes hidden somewhere. Somehow I don’t think this program would fly today….too bad. BTW, I think I spied the host of Seseme Street around the 1:10 mark.

  3. Mike says:

    Jezzz, Ger, I didn’t know you were that old!

    Mitch was a hoot. Compare that with what’s on the tube today… (sigh!)

    Mike

  4. I wonder how many families actually sang along with Mitch as they sat in their living rooms watching their 21 inch screen Philcos. I recall watching the show with my parents. We were a quiet, shy trio. To this day I feel uncomfortable when, at a concert, the singer asks the audience to sing along. I’m there to listen. You expect me to sing, pay me.

    That said…

    I was at the London Palladium back in the 70s with some friends. We were there to see and hear, of all things, a Rod McKuen concert. He asked us to sing along with one of his tunes, and we did. The concert’s on CD: Rod McKuen Live at the London Palladium. Listen hard and you might just hear me.

  5. Gerry says:

    It seems so quaint now, doesn’t it Marsh?

    Rich, I still have an old Lafayette reel-to-reel in the basement.

    Mike, I am forever young.

    And Ter, to this day, when someone says sing along, I mouth the words. Ain’t nobody gonna hear me sing.

Leave a Reply

