But They Meant Well

My favorite story of the week, from our Thursday broadcasts:

APPEARANCES CAN BE DECEIVING…AND APPARENTLY, SO CAN CERTAIN SOUNDS.

4 TORRINGTON TEENAGERS WERE IN COURT WEDNESDAY…CHARGED WITH ASSAULTING A MAN WITH A BASEBALL BAT.

THEY TOLD POLICE THEY THOUGHT HE WAS ATTACKING A WOMAN ON JUNE 6TH…BECAUSE THEY HEARD HER SCREAMING.

SO LOUISVILLE SLUGGER IN HAND…THEY CHARGED INTO THE MAUD STREET HOME TO RESCUE HER.

SHE WAS, IN FACT, SCREAMING…WITH DELIGHT.

THEY WERE HAVING SEX… WHEN THEY WERE SO RUDELY INTERRUPTED.

Obviously, I’m sorry the guy got the crap beaten out of him, but I loved the story because every now and then I need a good “tester.” 

A tester is one of those stories you can have fun writing, and then hope you keep a straight face when you read it on camera (with no video to hide the expression on your visage). 

I passed my little test.  But on the inside, I was laughing my ass off.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, News, TV Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to But They Meant Well

  1. Doug says:

    story has been picked up all over the world. hilarious!

  2. Linda says:

    I actually saw you deliver this story with the most bland expression on your face and even said out loud “how did he keep a straight face?!” I knew this just had to make your blog! Good job, Gerry!

  3. This guy has GOT to show up on Letterman, Leno..or Kimmel..please!

  4. Maybe the HD makeup helped keep your face straight. Gotta go. Woman next door is screaming bloody murder. What should I use? Nine iron or wedge?

  5. Bill says:

    When I taught personal computers 15 years ago, someone wanted me to teach how to clean mouse balls. I knew I couldn’t do that with a straight face.

  6. Rick D says:

    Gerry, My wife as a tendency to get a little vocal. I am now going to start locking both deadbolts!

  7. Gerry says:

    Rick and Bill…funny stuff!
    Terry, I really like my gap wedge for those critical moments.

Leave a Reply

